Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > mount a pc formatted drive in X?

mount a pc formatted drive in X?
Thread Tools
KidRed
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 26, 2002, 04:28 PM
 
A client of mine finally made the switch and has but one issue to kep him mac full time. he has a pc formatted firewire drive that his PM won't mount (it wants to reformat). The drive is used on other pcs and he would like to access it with his mac too. Anyway to have access to a pc formatted drive and get it to mount ? Or have 1 drive that pc and mac can use easily? He can't network the files as they are too big, it would be too slow.
All Your Signature Are Belong To Us!
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 26, 2002, 04:32 PM
 
If it's NTFS, no. Otherwise it should work. Mac OS X supports FAT16 and FAT32 volumes.
Vandelay Industries
     
KidRed  (op)
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 26, 2002, 04:48 PM
 
thanks Art, I'll pass on the info.
All Your Signature Are Belong To Us!
     
OSxRulz
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 26, 2002, 05:15 PM
 
I had same problem... anytime you mount certain firewire drives in OS X it will ask to reformat. Whether it's fat32, 16 or ntfs.... If you backup the material on the drive first... reformat with OSX... and then the pc and mac will be able to read it. You can then copy the stuff back on.

Its a factory firmware issue for firewire manufacturers to figure out... well, apple is supposed to provide them with the info to fix this but have not yet. oh well.

You'd think apple woulda fixed it in the OSx end.

     
clarkgoble
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Provo, UT
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 26, 2002, 05:42 PM
 
Why doesn't Apple mount NTFS drives? You'd think that would be something they'd have added by now. The FAT and FAT32 stuff they had left over from Sys9 and wasn't much to add to OSX.

Linux can mount NTFS

http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/

Admittedly it won't all carry over to OSX. But a lot of the basic work is already done. If Apple released it as opensource there likely wouldn't be much problem.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,