Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Anyone have Virtual PC on a G5?

Anyone have Virtual PC on a G5?
Thread Tools
tony21
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 9, 2003, 11:45 PM
 
Bought a G5 for school, need to get Auto CAD or something like it. Im wondering how good V PC works. thanks
     
willab
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 9, 2003, 11:52 PM
 
Virtual PC does not run on the G5.
Dual 1.8 GHz G5
PB G4 1.67 GHz
     
tony21  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 12:38 AM
 
Originally posted by willab:
Virtual PC does not run on the G5.
why not?
     
osiris
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Isle of Manhattan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 12:39 AM
 
Ouch.

The cold hard truth.



I think a version may be available in a year, or so.
( Last edited by osiris; Sep 10, 2003 at 12:45 AM. )
     
swingard
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 12:59 AM
 
Originally posted by tony21:
why not?
Intel processors fetch and store data in 'little-endian' order (lower-order bits before higher-order bits). All the old Motorola 68k processors and many RISC processors (like the PPC) are 'big-endian' (higher-order bits come before lower-order), but some RISC processors can change 'on the fly'. The G3 and G4 processors have a 'pseudo-little-endian' mode that allows them to mimic the little-endian behavior of the Intel CPUs, so VPC didn't implement any sort of mechanism to convert byte order as it moved data around.

But for some reason, IBM did NOT implement this feature in the G5/970 (nor in the Power4 processor from whence it came). And Microsoft (the new owners of Virtual PC) say it's not going to be a 'quick patch' to fix, because they'll need to change LOTS of code to get around this, and then they've got to be sure that the fix they implement is going to work with the big pile of x86 software out there (which may include sneaky programmer tricks...)

Oops.
     
saturnbill
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Apopka ("the big potato") Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 12:31 PM
 
You may be better off in getting a CAD program meant for the Mac. There are several that might compare with AutoCad and can export the required file format. Vectorworks 10 is probably one of the best. DenebaCad does not have a OS X version yet. Running AutoCad through an emulator may not be the best choice for performance. Or you could (don't make me say it) you could buy a cheap Windoz system (arrrg! I said it, sorry).
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 01:09 PM
 
How much 3D acceleration is needed by the way? VPC doesn't really support 3D.
     
bauhaus
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 01:32 PM
 
AutoCad requires quite a lot of 3-D acceleration in newer versions (pre R11 it wasn't the case) Fantastic program but needs a lot of RAM, a good ISV certified graphics card, and plenty of CPU horsepower to run well (especially using mulitlayerd documents.)

Emulation subsystems for AutoCad wouldn't have really worked anyway on the G4, so by getting the G5, you're not missing anything. (you'd have still been in the same boat...)

At least AutoDesk has a viewer in the works and they're opening DWF.
     
KidRed
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 01:42 PM
 
Originally posted by tony21:
why not?
Because M$ is at it again



All Your Signature Are Belong To Us!
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 01:56 PM
 
Emulation subsystems for AutoCad wouldn't have really worked anyway on the G4, so by getting the G5, you're not missing anything. (you'd have still been in the same boat...)
Yeah, that's what I figured.

Given the recently announced viewer, maybe it's true that AutoCAD will come too... in 2005.
     
Busemann
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 02:14 PM
 
Originally posted by Eug:
Yeah, that's what I figured.

Given the recently announced viewer, maybe it's true that AutoCAD will come too... in 2005.
I think it'll arrive sooner. Many Apple execs have hinted at this for quite some time now, so I hope for an announcement in the not too distant future. And as autodesk says, the viewer is the "first step" towards the Mac platform..

Both Archicad and VectorWorks are credible apps though, and they both import and export to dwg.
     
Angus_D
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 03:02 PM
 
Originally posted by KidRed:
Because M$ is at it again
Bullsh*t.
     
kevin_stevens
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 04:16 PM
 
Yeah, really. Microsoft buys the product at current release code less than six months ago, and it's *THEIR* fault it doesn't support the necessary feature. C'mon - every sin in the digital world can't be laid at their doorstep.

KeS
     
Scotttheking
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 10, 2003, 04:33 PM
 
Either get a PC or wait for the mac version of autocad. Even if you could run autocad in VPC on the G5, I would recommend against it.
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,