Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Panther Hot Keys, tips and tricks.

Panther Hot Keys, tips and tricks.
Thread Tools
typoon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The Tollbooth Capital of the US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 05:32 PM
 
Anyone find any hot key combos or neat tricks in Panther?

I know for Expose F9,F10,F11
PLus the normal Mac OS keystrokes
"Evil is Powerless If the Good are Unafraid." -Ronald Reagan

Apple and Intel, the dawning of a NEW era.
     
gorgonzola
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Yawk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 06:18 PM
 
defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool false

Then restart the Dock and try F11 (the "Show Desktop" thing for Exposť). That's one. Kind of a weird precursor to multiple desktops, maybe. I dunno.

defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-floater -bool true

And restart the Dock. Kind of useless but it does put up this odd bauble that you can use to activate Exposť.

There are some other funky strings in Dock (like wvous-spring) but I dunno what some of these do.

defaults write com.apple.dock no-bouncing -bool true

will shut off the spastic Dock app bouncing thing. There are some other funky things...try macosxhints.com for more.
"Do not be too positive about things. You may be in error." (C. F. Lawlor, The Mixicologist)
     
Dirk Lenz
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cologne, Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 06:52 PM
 
cycle through expose windows with the tab key

drag and drop via exposť

double clicking in the DVD viewer window

navigating pull-down or popup menus using the arrow keys or by typing letters

:Dirk
     
TC
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Milan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 07:17 AM
 
Originally posted by Dirk Lenz:
cycle through expose windows with the tab key
I just found this and I think it needs to be highlighted even more as it completely changes the way you can use ExposŤ.

If you hit TAB in ExposŤ it will cycle through all of your Applications. Whether you are in 'All Windows' or 'Application Windows' mode it will switch to 'Application Windows' mode. Just keep tabbing to get to the application and window you need.

I found that in 'All Windows' mode that the windows would normally be too small so I find this much more useful.

Holy Shžt!!! If you cmd + tab in ExposŤ you can use the application switcher to move through the Application being displayed by ExposŤ!!!!!!!

I'm just way too excited about this.

Also, while we are on shortcuts, there are lots for the application switcher. You can move around your apps using the arrow keys and if you highlight an app you can press q to quit it or h to hide it. You can also use your mouse to select an app when the application switcher is visible. I haven't been able to drag and drop on the application switcher though.

Now finally Apple, please allow me to do this ExposŤ tabbing using my scroll wheel and I will be even happier.

p.s. pardon my french.
Nothing to see, move along.
     
proton
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 07:29 AM
 
Command-Option-Shift-Esc force quits the front application immediately, without displaying the Force Quit window.

- proton
     
suthercd
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Midwest
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 08:12 AM
 
^ F2 highlights the menu, arrow keys to choose menu, first letter of menu item to select item.

Craig
     
TC
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Milan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 08:49 AM
 
There is a nice tips page from Apple here:
http://www.info.apple.com/usen/panther/
Nothing to see, move along.
     
typoon  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The Tollbooth Capital of the US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 10:07 AM
 
Originally posted by proton:
Command-Option-Shift-Esc force quits the front application immediately, without displaying the Force Quit window.

- proton
Thank you That was what I was looking for
"Evil is Powerless If the Good are Unafraid." -Ronald Reagan

Apple and Intel, the dawning of a NEW era.
     
incandenza
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 10:57 AM
 
In most applications (any Cocoa application?), type part of a word and then press Option-ESC. You get a dropdown list of possible completions from the dictionary.

Safari does seem to hang up a bit when I do it there, though.
     
RevEvs
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sitting in front of computer
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 11:18 AM
 
Originally posted by gorgonzola:
defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool false

Then restart the Dock and try F11 (the "Show Desktop" thing for Exposť). That's one. Kind of a weird precursor to multiple desktops, maybe. I dunno.
heh thats cool. Can even carry on using the finder while its all minimised.

revs
I free'd my mind... now it won't come back.
     
khufuu
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: On my couch
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 11:24 AM
 
Originally posted by Dirk Lenz:

navigating pull-down or popup menus using the arrow keys or by typing letters

irk
Finally!!
     
Xeo
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, MN, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 11:34 AM
 
Originally posted by RevEvs:
heh thats cool. Can even carry on using the finder while its all minimised.

revs
You can do that with the default way to. I prefer the default way 'cause it moves the stuff off screen where it's truly out of my way.
     
typoon  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The Tollbooth Capital of the US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 05:04 PM
 
Keep'em coming
"Evil is Powerless If the Good are Unafraid." -Ronald Reagan

Apple and Intel, the dawning of a NEW era.
     
Hop Pocket
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 08:30 PM
 
Originally posted by proton:
Command-Option-Shift-Esc force quits the front application immediately, without displaying the Force Quit window.

- proton
That is completely sweet. Thank you.
     
Musti
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montrťal, QC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 01:24 AM
 
Originally posted by RevEvs:
heh thats cool. Can even carry on using the finder while its all minimised.

revs
Yeah, thats cool 2. And you can drag the minimized pile anywhere. For some reason system started acting funny though, like clicks not registering or window widgets not working...reverting to default...
( Last edited by Musti; Oct 29, 2003 at 01:46 AM. )
     
kzmk
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: eimsbusch
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 05:53 AM
 
Originally posted by Dirk Lenz:
cycle through expose windows with the tab key

drag and drop via exposť

double clicking in the DVD viewer window

navigating pull-down or popup menus using the arrow keys or by typing letters

irk
plus the arrow keys let you select windows, just as if you were pointing at them with the mouse.
All kinds of Utopian plans were flashing through his (B's) busy brain...
     
qnxde
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 08:08 AM
 
Originally posted by gorgonzola:
defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool false

Then restart the Dock and try F11 (the "Show Desktop" thing for Exposť). That's one. Kind of a weird precursor to multiple desktops, maybe. I dunno.
Highly not recommended. With this option enabled I experienced some weird GUI glitches where menu items, buttons, etc randomly would not respond to mouse clicks. Took me a few hours to work out what was doing it after pointing the finger at APE and SideTrack.

You can't eat all those hamburgers, you hear me you ridiculous man?
     
eevyl
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: M√°laga, Spain, Europe, Earth, Solar System
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 09:04 AM
 
Originally posted by gorgonzola:
defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool false

Then restart the Dock and try F11 (the "Show Desktop" thing for Exposť). That's one. Kind of a weird precursor to multiple desktops, maybe. I dunno.
Made a small movie that shows how this looks like, enjoy!

http://homepage.mac.com/eevyl/screen...desktopalt.mov (2.2 MB)

Made using a PowerBook G4 12" (Rev. A), "Everything Invaded" music video by Moonspell.
     
SomeToast
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: California - Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 12:14 PM
 
Originally posted by eevyl:
http://homepage.mac.com/eevyl/screen...desktopalt.mov (2.2 MB)
Note: Do not open in an office environment with your speakers turned up.
     
Axel
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 12:22 PM
 
Originally posted by qnxde:
Highly not recommended. With this option enabled I experienced some weird GUI glitches where menu items, buttons, etc randomly would not respond to mouse clicks. Took me a few hours to work out what was doing it after pointing the finger at APE and SideTrack.
After trying this hint a few times on my TiBook, I lost complete control of the system : the mouse could move but everything else was frozen. I tried to kill loginwindow from another box, but the frozen machine couldn't even be reached from the network.
     
Axel
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 12:27 PM
 
dp, sorry
     
eevyl
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: M√°laga, Spain, Europe, Earth, Solar System
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 04:14 PM
 
Originally posted by SomeToast:
Note: Do not open in an office environment with your speakers turned up.
LOL

Sorry, I should have included a disclaimer about the music, but I said it contained a music video
     
RooneyX
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 04:24 PM
 
Originally posted by gorgonzola:
defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool false

Then restart the Dock and try F11 (the "Show Desktop" thing for Exposť). That's one. Kind of a weird precursor to multiple desktops, maybe. I dunno.

defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-floater -bool true

And restart the Dock. Kind of useless but it does put up this odd bauble that you can use to activate Exposť.

There are some other funky strings in Dock (like wvous-spring) but I dunno what some of these do.

defaults write com.apple.dock no-bouncing -bool true

will shut off the spastic Dock app bouncing thing. There are some other funky things...try macosxhints.com for more.
Oh my Cod. Looks like Apple will intro some cool stuff in 10.4.
     
Playdoe
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Magnolia, Mississippi
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 05:50 PM
 
Apple says, "If you want to go "backward" through the switcher window, press Command-Shift-Tab."

You can also use Command-tilde to go backward in the swither window.

Once you activate exposť you can tap the TAB key to go forward or the TILDE key to go backward.
     
scb
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 08:16 PM
 
From the "It's about time" Department:

You can now use command-N to create new folders in the Save dialog!
     
Webscreamer
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 09:49 PM
 
Originally posted by scb:
From the "It's about time" Department:

You can now use command-N to create new folders in the Save dialog!
WOW! This is near the best one on here!
Anyone who would letterspace blackletter would steal sheep. - Frederic Goudy
     
nforcer
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 10:33 PM
 
When changing a file extension, it always gives the annoying "do you want to change this" message. As always, my answer is "Yes". In Jaguar, I was able to press escape when this dialog would come up, and it would dismiss it and change the file type. In Panther I have not found a keyboard equivilent (but have not looked too much either).

Any one find something, or a hidden preference setting that will disable the dialog altogether?
     
scb
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 09:08 AM
 
Originally posted by scb:
From the "It's about time" Department:

You can now use command-N to create new folders in the Save dialog!
And I just discovered that if you click an existing filename in a save dialog, that name is written to the the "Save As" field.

Just like in (ahem) Windows.
     
JLL
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 09:17 AM
 
Originally posted by scb:
From the "It's about time" Department:

You can now use command-N to create new folders in the Save dialog!
Cmd-Shift-N
JLL

- My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that I am right.
     
JLL
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 09:18 AM
 
Originally posted by Playdoe:
Apple says, "If you want to go "backward" through the switcher window, press Command-Shift-Tab."

You can also use Command-tilde to go backward in the swither window.
Or Cmd-left/right arrow to go left or right.
JLL

- My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that I am right.
     
elmer
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 12:42 PM
 
The great thing about key combos now is making them yourself!
In System Preferences under Keyboard and Mouse, I added a keyboard shortcut F8 for the "Show All" menu command.
Now if I want to work in single app mode (hiding other apps using Cmd-Option-H), when I want to use Expose, I hit F8 before hitting F9, so I see all windows in Expose.
Note when you add or change a keyboard shortcut it does not show up in any given app until you restart that app.
     
ccrider
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, yo...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 01:05 PM
 
An quick way I found to switch apps using apple's switcher is to use your mouse to select the apps listed. You don't have to even click to select- just let go. Also, pressing q will quit the app selected.

I'm sure most people know this but whatever.
     
scb
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 01:14 PM
 
Originally posted by JLL:
Cmd-Shift-N
That apparently depends on the program. As far as I can tell, Carbon apps like Word and Mozilla use command-N and Cocoa appls like Safari and TextPad use comman-shift-N.
     
andretan
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Singapore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 03:36 PM
 
Originally posted by ccrider:
An quick way I found to switch apps using apple's switcher is to use your mouse to select the apps listed. You don't have to even click to select- just let go. Also, pressing q will quit the app selected.

I'm sure most people know this but whatever.
Wow. Great tip!
mac.goodies webstore / Switched to an iBook in November 2002. Never looking back.
iBook R.I.P. 20 Nov 2002 - 2 Aug 2005
Hello Leopard! On iMac 17" Intel Core Duo 1.83GHz 2GB, iPod 5th gen 30GB and iPhone
     
real
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ca
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 05:14 PM
 
Is there a way to customize the keyboard shortcuts for Expose. I would like to have more than just shift, option, fn, control, F9, F10, F11, etc. In the pref pane it doesn't seem possible.

Anyone tried fooling with that.

thanks for the time.


real
With some loud music + a friend to chat nearby you can get alot done. - but jezz, I'd avoid it if I had the choice---- If only real people came with Alpha Channels.......:)
AIM:xflaer
deinterlaced.com
     
TC
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Milan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 06:53 PM
 
Originally posted by ccrider:
An quick way I found to switch apps using apple's switcher is to use your mouse to select the apps listed.
You can also use your mouse's scroll wheel to move back and fore through them.
Nothing to see, move along.
     
moofman
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 07:38 PM
 
Not necessarily a trick, but interesting none-the-less. When you're typing in a web page's password field it puts a little shift-arrow symbol on the right side if you have caps-lock on.
     
nobitacu
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 07:43 PM
 
Nice, thanks for the tips.

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
d4nth3m4n
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far above Cayuga's waters.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2003, 11:56 AM
 
heres one: i got tired of clicking on "home" in the sidebar only to find that my user file was the root of the column view.

hit cmd-uparrow to get the full path back to computer as root of the column view. (you might have to hit it twice to get all the way back)

Dan.
     
Dale Sorel
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: With my kitties!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2003, 12:38 PM
 
Originally posted by d4nth3m4n:
hit cmd-uparrow to get the full path back to computer as root of the column view.
Cool
     
-Q-
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2003, 12:39 PM
 
Originally posted by ccrider:
An quick way I found to switch apps using apple's switcher is to use your mouse to select the apps listed. You don't have to even click to select- just let go. Also, pressing q will quit the app selected.

I'm sure most people know this but whatever.
I'd love to be able to turn this off. I have no interest in using my mouse to do this and it's interfering with my normal switch. Glad it's there as an option, but does anyone know how to make it go away?
     
[APi]TheMan
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chico, CA and Carlsbad, CA.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 4, 2003, 06:21 PM
 
Originally posted by SomeToast:
Note: Do not open in an office environment with your speakers turned up.
Doh. And QuickTime allllllways starts playing before I have time to turn the volume down. I gotta remember to turn that autostart crap off.

Cool flick, though. Apple's zesty.
"In Nomine Patris, Et Fili, Et Spiritus Sancti"

     
Awimoway
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Under a Joshua Tree
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 4, 2003, 10:55 PM
 
Has anyone figured out a way to make app switching (i.e. command + tab) work on a multi-button mouse without ever touching the keyboard? I would really like to bring up the app-switching strip and get it to stay up without making the selector rapidly move through all the apps. The problem is that you have to press two keys to bring it up but must hold down only one key (command) to make the strip remain visible without the selector moving rapidly from left to right. My fingers aren't acrobatic enough to manage this by holding down two buttons and then letting go of one of them. I'm just wondering if there is some other, more creative way of working around the problem. I use USB Overdrive, so a lot of different functions are available to my mouse buttons.
     
d4nth3m4n
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far above Cayuga's waters.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2003, 01:16 AM
 
dock submenus respond to key inputs for the first letter of a file.

right click on a folder in the dock, like apps. hit (for example) t, text edit comes up.

helpful if you have a lot of stuff in a folder and dun want to wait to get to the Xes and Ys

it isnt perfect, but its better than nothing

Dan.
     
Awimoway
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Under a Joshua Tree
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2003, 03:08 AM
 
Originally posted by Awimoway:
Has anyone figured out a way to make app switching (i.e. command + tab) work on a multi-button mouse without ever touching the keyboard? I would really like to bring up the app-switching strip and get it to stay up without making the selector rapidly move through all the apps. The problem is that you have to press two keys to bring it up but must hold down only one key (command) to make the strip remain visible without the selector moving rapidly from left to right. My fingers aren't acrobatic enough to manage this by holding down two buttons and then letting go of one of them. I'm just wondering if there is some other, more creative way of working around the problem. I use USB Overdrive, so a lot of different functions are available to my mouse buttons.
Nevermind my request. After making it work on a mouse, I see now that the Command + Tab feature is really designed for people who favor their keyboards. When using a mouse, all of these functions are easier and faster just using the dock itself.
     
phobos
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2003, 04:14 AM
 
REALLY STUPID QUESTION COMING THIS WAY!!!

How do I drag and drop in expose? I've been trying ever since I got panther but I just can't make it happen!!!
     
milhouse
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2003, 12:06 PM
 
Originally posted by phobos:
REALLY STUPID QUESTION COMING THIS WAY!!!

How do I drag and drop in expose? I've been trying ever since I got panther but I just can't make it happen!!!
Check out this Apple "tip:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=32357

Not the smoothest but seems like it should work.
"-Dodge This"
     
bri-guy
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2003, 12:31 AM
 
I'm sure others have seen this too:

With my Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer, I can set buttons 4 and 5 (the tiny ones on the side of the mouse - right where your thumb rests) to be Exposť buttons! This completely rocks!
     
theolein
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: zurich, switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 29, 2004, 11:54 PM
 
Massive bump from last year:

I have no idea if everyone in the Mac world besides me knows this, but I only discovered this by accident a while ago: In almost any save dialog in all Cocoa applications and most of the newer carbon ones (PS and IE not, sadly), you can hit the space bar to dismiss the dialog without saving. I find this incredibly useful in TextEdit and Mail, for example. Also, when tabbing through a form on a web page and you get to a drop-down menu, hit tab to open the menu and the letter of the option you want to get their quickly.
weird wabbit
     
MartiNZ
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auckland, NZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 30, 2004, 12:14 AM
 
Hmmm, we should never have stopped these !

I've got one: when you're in a save dialog but not in the place you want to save, and can't be bothered navigating there, you can easily do it if that Finder window is open behind the current app.

Just drag the icon from the Finder window title bar into where the files are listed in the save dialog, and you are transported there! It works through cmd-tab as well, to make it more useful . I have never used 'DefaultFolder' but as I understand it, this is one of its claims to fame... and I figure, a not very well known feature of Panther ... or earlier?
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,