Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > G4 400mhz > G5 Dual 2ghz - WHOAH!

G4 400mhz > G5 Dual 2ghz - WHOAH!
Thread Tools
WOPR
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NORAD (England branch)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 04:10 AM
 
I knew things were going to be quicker but I didn't appreciate by how much. My old Sawtooth G4 400mhz was starting to be a pain as I'm a heavyweight user of apps like Photoshop and Illustrator. My 867mhz 12" PB was noticeably quicker, but this new G5 is just awesome. I actually did a real-life benchmark and the result amazed me.

Photoshop tests using a 112mb layered Photoshop CS file:

Time to open on G4 400mhz 768mb RAM: 45 secs
PowerBook G4 867mhz 640mb RAM: 37 secs
G5 Dual 2ghz: 13s Then 7 s immediately afterwards!

Resize above file to 200dpi:
G4 400mhz: 2m 51s
Resize to 200dpi: 1m 27s
G5: 24s!!!

And do you know the best thing? I didn't have to pay for it as I work at home and my employer has to supply the Mac

 iMac Core 2 Duo 17" 2ghz 3gb/250gb ||  iBook G4 12" 1.33ghz 1gb/40gb
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 02:00 PM
 
Congratulations on joining the club. It is great, isn't it? I jumped to the same machine but from a much further distance than you did: from an 8600/300.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
eddiecatflap
Baninated
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: http://www.rotharmy.com
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 02:13 PM
 
wow

i bet that was a shock to the system !
     
webb3201
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 03:14 PM
 
Originally posted by Big Mac:
Congratulations on joining the club. It is great, isn't it? I jumped to the same machine but from a much further distance than you did: from an 8600/300.
Hehe, I can imagine you running to the control panel to slow down the mouse.

k
Read my MacWebb column and other great Mac articles at Lowendmac.com

Owner of a MacBook Pro and various other Macs.
     
WOPR  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NORAD (England branch)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2004, 10:50 AM
 
Originally posted by Big Mac:
Congratulations on joining the club. It is great, isn't it? I jumped to the same machine but from a much further distance than you did: from an 8600/300.
Now that is a jump! Silly thing is, my SE still feels quite snappy, but that's OS7 for you

 iMac Core 2 Duo 17" 2ghz 3gb/250gb ||  iBook G4 12" 1.33ghz 1gb/40gb
     
Webscreamer
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2004, 11:17 PM
 
I did the 400 G4 to Dual 2 G5 too... amazing. But i come back to the G4 and I am still impressed what the 400mhz can still do ;-)

I got my old G3 B&W 350 as a server running 10.3 Server... idles at 3.7% CPU use.
Anyone who would letterspace blackletter would steal sheep. - Frederic Goudy
     
DeathToWindows
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 07:14 AM
 
I went from a 733G4 to my DP2.0.... crazy...

photoshop doesn't get bogged down with the healing tool now...

Don't try to outweird me, I get stranger things than you free with my breakfast cereal.
     
Webscreamer
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 10:55 AM
 
Originally posted by DeathToWindows:
I went from a 733G4 to my DP2.0.... crazy...

photoshop doesn't get bogged down with the healing tool now...
I don't feel sorry ;-) 733 is still a nice machine. I was on one the other day and loved it. Would make a great server. Wanna sell?
Anyone who would letterspace blackletter would steal sheep. - Frederic Goudy
     
AC Rempt
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 12:39 PM
 
Hey, I went from a twin gig G4 to a dual 1.8 G5, and the speed difference is still very noticeable. I don't have any timed tests, but I can tell you that apps spring open and exporting files from Fireworks happens in a wink.

G5s are great machines, and I can't wait til we get an OS and some apps to make use of the 64 bit architecture.
     
WOPR  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NORAD (England branch)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 12:59 PM
 
Originally posted by AC Rempt:
G5s are great machines, and I can't wait til we get an OS and some apps to make use of the 64 bit architecture.
That's a good point - it hadn't occurred to me that the full power wasn't being utilised yet. Cool!

 iMac Core 2 Duo 17" 2ghz 3gb/250gb ||  iBook G4 12" 1.33ghz 1gb/40gb
     
kentuckyfried
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 05:35 PM
 

And do you know the best thing? I didn't have to pay for it as I work at home and my employer has to supply the Mac [/B]

That...is a beautiful thing. =D
Now I know, and knowing is half the battle!
     
barrysharp
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 07:56 PM
 
Originally posted by WOPR:
That's a good point - it hadn't occurred to me that the full power wasn't being utilised yet. Cool!
Be careful about performance of 32 vs. 64 bit codes/programs/Apps. The 64 bit codes will have larger memory address space and more arithmetic accuracy but performance over 32 bit codes will not be significant if any. The larger memory space may allow a code to hold more info in memory and having this direct addressing to it could provide an improvement in doing its work. The 64 bit codes will also be larger and require a larger memory footprint so a machine's RAM may have to be increased if many 64-bit codes are run at same time.
     
Chewn
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saskatoon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 08:21 PM
 
I jumped from Windows to a Mac. yeah. that should explain things. No all i gots ta do is make every do the same thing...hum.....hum...
Hey, if you were a hotdog and you were starving would you eat yourself????? I know I would, first i'd smuther myself with brown mustard and relish, i'd be so delecious. So would ya....?
~iBook 800~~640mb~~30GB~~12'~~OS X 10.2.4~
     
delete
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 09:01 PM
 
I'm in the upgrade group too. Went from a single 450 to a Dual 2.0. I had a SCSI RAID in the G4 which I thought I'd miss a lot but with a Raptor drive in the G5, amazingly nothing is lost. Of course boatloads of RAM helps too. I work all day In Photoshop and this is quite a step up.
Did I mention boatloads of RAM helps too?
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 09:04 PM
 
My biggest leap was from a 400MHz blue & white G3 to a dual 800MHz G4 Quicksilver. That was a major change!
     
deTaNg
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Manhattan, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 09:10 PM
 
I've used the dual 450 G4 1 Gig Ram, dual 500 G4 1 Gig Ram and then jumped to a dual 1.42 G4. Major difference. I've also played with the G5's and truthfully I'm quite content with what the 1.42 can do speed and ability wise. Just if it was less noisy, but that's a different thread.
     
delete
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 09:19 PM
 
Originally posted by deTaNg:
Just if it was less noisy, but that's a different thread.
It's interesting to hear all the various noise stories about G5's. Try having 2 10K SCSI drives in a Sawtooth box with other drives and then we can talk about noise! That thing sounded like a shop vac. This G5 is whisper quiet.
     
W9FIF
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2004, 10:26 PM
 
I may have the most drastic switch of all....... 1Ghz Athlon w/W98se to a DP 2.5 G5. What d'ya think??
I think I can struggle thru......... :-)
DP 2.5 G5, 4Gb Ram, dual 250 HDDs, ATI
-9600, 17" studio

My first Mac! :-)
     
Webscreamer
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2004, 10:52 AM
 
Originally posted by W9FIF:
I may have the most drastic switch of all....... 1Ghz Athlon w/W98se to a DP 2.5 G5. What d'ya think??
I think I can struggle thru......... :-)
YEAH!

You made the best swtich! Welcome to MacNN and hope you are enjoying your amazing new Mac
Anyone who would letterspace blackletter would steal sheep. - Frederic Goudy
     
D-BLOCK
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2004, 12:52 PM
 
I appreciated the jump from the g3 to g4 platform...still drool when using a friend's 1.8 G5 tho....maybe I'll have to do the jump soon...

eMac 800 Mhz Radeon - 640 Mb - 40 Gb
iBook 1.07 Ghz Radeon - 768 Mb - 30 Gb
     
MattiMattMatt
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2004, 07:07 PM
 
I'm moving from a 333 Mhz G3 to a dual 2.5 G5 (already ordered, waiting for it to arrive).

[irony] I'm not sure I'll experience a similarly dramatic speed bump, but at least the metal case will look way cooler than the beige plastic surrounding my G3 [/irony]
     
DeathToWindows
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2004, 10:03 PM
 
Originally posted by Webscreamer:
I don't feel sorry ;-) 733 is still a nice machine. I was on one the other day and loved it. Would make a great server. Wanna sell?
Nah, It was sold to my folks to pay for the G5...

Don't try to outweird me, I get stranger things than you free with my breakfast cereal.
     
DeathToWindows
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2004, 10:04 PM
 
Originally posted by W9FIF:
I may have the most drastic switch of all....... 1Ghz Athlon w/W98se to a DP 2.5 G5. What d'ya think??
I think I can struggle thru......... :-)
Welcome friend!

Don't try to outweird me, I get stranger things than you free with my breakfast cereal.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,