Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > The New Power Mac Picture Thread

The New Power Mac Picture Thread (Page 7)
Thread Tools
TailsToo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Westside Island
Status: Offline
Oct 27, 2005, 10:08 PM
 
Originally Posted by Goldfinger
TailsToo why the heck do you keep the PowerBook on a stand there? It's like you can use it like that. Or was that just for showing ?
That's just to charge it... i usually use it somewhere else in the house or take it with me when I'm out of town...
     
Cloud
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Status: Offline
Nov 3, 2005, 11:57 AM
 
Originally Posted by mousehouse


Never in my life have I ever seen a computer setup in a closet before. Very interesting! Don't you feel like a hermit being secluded in there?
     
mousehouse
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: netherlands
Status: Offline
Nov 3, 2005, 01:45 PM
 
no not at all! as a matter of fact it is quite comfortable. i raised the floor to the same level as in the living room. most of my chair is in the living room when i work, and the closet shields impressions from the room for me. it's almost like a cubicle ;-) to the right i have about 1m (3ft) extra desk space that holds supplies, papers, phones and other junk.
MacBook Pro 13"/2.66 (09/2010), Mac Mini c2d/1.83 (01/2008)
     
Cloud
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Status: Offline
Nov 3, 2005, 04:07 PM
 
I guess I'll turn my walk in closet into a home office now. Interesting idea you have there.
     
kapeedmaro
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 04:21 AM
 
cool
     
lovehelena
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 05:55 AM
 




PowerMac Dual 2.0 (Early 2005)
alice in wonderland
     
Cloud
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 01:28 PM
 
Yo dide what kinda monitor is that?

BTW I love your hangers in your closet.... I think that's a closet
     
Cloud
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 01:28 PM
 
Yo dide what kinda monitor is that?

BTW I love your hangers in your closet.... I think that's a closet
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 03:40 PM
 
Looks like a Viewsonic VP211B Pro 21.3"
     
lovehelena
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 5, 2005, 08:55 PM
 
The monitor is EIZO, FlexScan s1910.
alice in wonderland
     
ortizeg
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 6, 2005, 09:11 PM
 
Originally Posted by wtmcgee
Nothing special, but here's mine:



got the dual 1.8 g5, a dell 20.1 widescreen monitor, apple bluetooth keyboard, and the logitech mx1000 mouse.
I'm from Orlando as well!! Out of curiosity how is the reponse of your mouse? Any lag? I have a kensington wireless set up and my keyboars works perfectly fine, but the mouse lags way too quickly. I think it has to do with the laser going to sleep too quickly. I'm looking into getting a different mouse since the lag is way to annoying to get used (I've been using it for about two months).
     
Dex13
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Nov 10, 2005, 03:34 AM
 


See if you can identify everything.

G5 1.8 Original
     
Quantum Flux
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Status: Offline
Nov 11, 2005, 07:10 AM
 
LOG3452 logitech laser mouse?

Also i see an ipod and maybee a maxtor one-touch II external hard-disk.

Samsung monitor?

A bigger picture would help.
     
the macimum
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 13, 2005, 09:14 PM
 
Looks more like an Acer.

I used to have that surge protector for my Macintosh Plus, lol. From then on I have been using UPS's though. They really do a fine job, and are worth steal--er, every penny.

Looks like an EPSON Stylus Color 800, somewhere in that area. And you are definatley in a dorm, what university, Major: , Minor:
( Last edited by Lateralus; Nov 13, 2005 at 09:47 PM. Reason: No reason you needed to make three posts within five minutes.)
     
Dex13
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Nov 14, 2005, 06:42 PM
 
http://static.flickr.com/24/61811225_a332326c87_b.jpg

there's a link to a bigger pic.
It's a stylus 740 lol. from my imac g3 400 ....
ipod 20gb.
WD 80gb HD FW
-----
Orbitz Gum (15 more hidden in drawers)
Jones Sodas
Illegal Halogen Lamp.
Ikea Pencil Holders.
¿Bottle Rockets? My Cousin gave me a few.
Power Bar.
Apple Mousepad stolen from elementary school.
Sony Headphones MDRV300
---
lol where is my isight
---
Major: Computer Information Systems
Minor: Digital Media Arts

I go to Cow Poly
     
frankie tot
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 17, 2005, 12:34 PM
 
HeHe... you must be in a dorm room Dex13! Great idea with the bubble wrap to protect your head!
[FONT="Century Gothic"]mac poker bonus codes -mac online poker - mac poker online[/FONT]
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 21, 2005, 12:26 AM
 


Got a new G5... another dual 2.0Ghz w/ 1GB. Will use it for rendering with Shake.
( Last edited by trancepriest; Nov 21, 2005 at 10:40 AM. )
     
the macimum
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 21, 2005, 12:44 PM
 
Dex13, you never said what kind of monitor that was...I stole 3 of my mousepads from my high school..they were nice. Apple designs with like a glossy finish.
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Nov 21, 2005, 03:18 PM
 
trancepriest, thats a cosy looking setup. Those are dual 23" aye?
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 21, 2005, 08:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by voo
trancepriest, thats a cosy looking setup. Those are dual 23" aye?
Thanks for the compliment. The screens are all 23's.
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 22, 2005, 12:25 AM
 
Hey trancepriest what did you do with the cube and the PowerBook?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 22, 2005, 12:38 AM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
Hey trancepriest what did you do with the cube and the PowerBook?
My Cube is in another room and the Powerbook I sent to DT&T Services to get repaired (looks like logic board failure).
     
Jason
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Nov 24, 2005, 07:19 AM
 
Originally Posted by trancepriest


Got a new G5... another dual 2.0Ghz w/ 1GB. Will use it for rendering with Shake.
Sweet set up man, are those dual screens 20 or 23 inchers? Cheers mate. (only reason i ask is because im planning on buying a powermac either dual 1.8 or 2.0 gig, and i dont currencly have the money to buy a 23" screen, well not a apple screen anyway, so i planned on buying the 20" screen and then guy another 20" screen down the track.

Any information would be appreciated.

Jason.
"Amidst all the hype of modern design and computers, we have remained true by generating the majority of our designs by hand, viewing the computer as a tool and not letting it dictate our designs." - Ames Design.
     
Jason
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Nov 24, 2005, 07:24 AM
 
Originally Posted by trancepriest


Got a new G5... another dual 2.0Ghz w/ 1GB. Will use it for rendering with Shake.
Great setup man! im loving the dual 23 inchers I'm personally going to be getting either a dual 1.8 or 2.0 gig powermac and i think im going to have to settle for a 20" screen for the moment! (due to money issues!) although down the track i will buy another 20" screen which should make the experience much better, and it should be decent for me beause i mainly use photoshop so the dual screens are a great option. Top system mate!
"Amidst all the hype of modern design and computers, we have remained true by generating the majority of our designs by hand, viewing the computer as a tool and not letting it dictate our designs." - Ames Design.
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 24, 2005, 08:56 AM
 
Originally Posted by Jason
Great setup man! im loving the dual 23 inchers I'm personally going to be getting either a dual 1.8 or 2.0 gig powermac and i think im going to have to settle for a 20" screen for the moment! (due to money issues!) although down the track i will buy another 20" screen which should make the experience much better, and it should be decent for me beause i mainly use photoshop so the dual screens are a great option. Top system mate!
Thanks alot! I appreciate your kind comments. My first Mac setup was a dual 2GHz with a 20" screen back in Oct. of 03... the only problem I would have with recommending that setup now is that HD video will be very prevalent in the coming years and you may feel a little left out. If you have to... get the Dell HD display... the quality rivals Apples and I've seen the price directly from Dell as low as $800 with discounts. Stay tuned to the deals section on digg.com they usually have some good alerts to discounts. I wish you luck in getting the system that you want.
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 24, 2005, 06:45 PM
 
I allways like your setup trancepriest enjoy your other powermac
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 24, 2005, 11:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
I allways like your setup trancepriest enjoy your other powermac
Thank you! I'm hoping to build a big cluster for rendering with Qmaster... I'll post some pics of my progress.
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 25, 2005, 12:10 AM
 
Cluster of PowerMac? or Xserve?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Nov 25, 2005, 12:50 AM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
Cluster of PowerMac? or Xserve?
XServe Cluster Nodes... hoping to get the 25u cabinet before the end of this month.
     
lothar56
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Iowa State Univesity
Status: Offline
Nov 25, 2005, 07:52 PM
 
Here's my temporary setup during thanksgiving break:
     
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 26, 2005, 09:27 AM
 
Unpacking the beauty:

The massive radiator:

More pics from the whole setup later...
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Nov 26, 2005, 05:41 PM
 
Originally Posted by MDD867
Unpacking the beauty:
(snip)
More pics from the whole setup later...
Quad or single processor dual core?
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Nov 26, 2005, 05:46 PM
 
Whats with the grey glossy panel, is that to protect the radiator?
     
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 27, 2005, 05:39 AM
 
It's a Quad. In single processor models there's just a heatsink. The grey glossy panel is the fan assembly that connects to the connnector in front of the radiator. The fan assembly is a lot bigger than in previous G5's

The Quad must be the quietest Powermac ever... It's as quiet right out the box as my modded MDD867 that has all its fans changed to quieter and slower ones.
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Nov 27, 2005, 09:50 AM
 
Was it customized? Just curious what graphics card you got.
     
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 27, 2005, 09:59 AM
 
Originally Posted by voo
Was it customized? Just curious what graphics card you got.
Standard configuration, stock 6600 card. I use the coputer for 2D design so there's no benefit of amore expensive card.

Ordered the next day it was announced.

I added 4 GB of Crucial RAM which seems to work just fine.
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 27, 2005, 07:20 PM
 
Awesome! Make sure you post pics with your display. By the way what display do you have MDD867?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 28, 2005, 01:59 AM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
Awesome! Make sure you post pics with your display. By the way what display do you have MDD867?
I'll post pics when my 30" arrives later this week...
     
Kyle Dreaden
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Status: Offline
Nov 28, 2005, 09:46 AM
 
Originally Posted by MDD867
I'll post pics when my 30" arrives later this week...
What? Only ONE 30" display? Now you're just showing off
Desktop: 24" Aluminum/Black iMac 2.4GHz | 4GB RAM

Notebook: None | Want to buy a 12" Powerbook | PM ME!
     
the macimum
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Status: Offline
Nov 29, 2005, 08:11 PM
 
You people are lucky.
     
monyx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 05:37 AM
 
Dual Core 2.3Ghz replacing trusty G4 500Mhz Dual Gigabit...
Ironically I had to relocate the G4 to the other end of the house to a free ethernet on the LAN to move files across.

MacPro 2.66Ghz X1900XT 3Gb/800Gb/ 24" LCD/ OSX 10.4.8
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 06:54 AM
 
Originally Posted by monyx
Ironically I had to relocate the G4 to the other end of the house to a free ethernet on the LAN to move files across.
Why not use FireWire target disk mode?
     
lothar56
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Iowa State Univesity
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 04:21 PM
 
if they've both got gigabit ethernet, then it would be much faster than FW. 1000mb/s to 400mb/s
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 05:02 PM
 
Originally Posted by lothar56
if they've both got gigabit ethernet, then it would be much faster than FW. 1000mb/s to 400mb/s
He said it's a G4/500 so it's the AGP model, that had only 100BaseT. Gigabit Ethernet wasn't introduced till the digital audio series (one series later IIRC). He might have a Gigabit PCI card however, but I can't see that from this angle...
     
monyx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 08:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by Simon
He said it's a G4/500 so it's the AGP model, that had only 100BaseT. Gigabit Ethernet wasn't introduced till the digital audio series (one series later IIRC). He might have a Gigabit PCI card however, but I can't see that from this angle...
Actually the 500DP is designated the 'Gigabit AGP' model and has from the specs sheet:

"Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Ethernet networking"

I did actually do a direct connection after reading that a cross-over cable is not necessary as the ports automatically configure for straight ethernet connection between two machines.
(only have 6-4 pin firewire cables for my cameras)

Venerable G4 are bit slow today but it has served well cutting wedding videos for five years. I paid a princely sum (785!) for an early Pioneer DVR-103 SD for it years ago, added 2x120Gb scratch drives - smooth sailing ever since despite performance hit with SystemHD on ATA33 (in place of ZIP)

Mark
MacPro 2.66Ghz X1900XT 3Gb/800Gb/ 24" LCD/ OSX 10.4.8
     
the macimum
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 08:03 PM
 
It's kinda weird, from this angle, the g5 looks like it has a glossy finish, call me crazy, but the way the G4 casts a shadow on it.....
     
trevorM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2005, 08:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by the macimum
It's kinda weird, from this angle, the g5 looks like it has a glossy finish, call me crazy, but the way the G4 casts a shadow on it.....
Agree. It looks plasticy almost. I noticed that too. Kinda cool. kinda weird.

When you pick one up though, to put it on your table you sure do know it ain't no plastic
Apple Powermac G5: Dual 1.85GHz | 80Gb System | 3Gb Ram | GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL | BT | Airport | Apple 30" Cinema HD Display Apple Powerbook AL G4: 12" | 1.5Ghz | 60b System | 1.25Gb Ram | Airport | BT Other: Airport Express | Airport Extreme | TiG4 PB 800Mhz | 20" iMac G5 w/ built in iSight | Swivel Screen iMac G4 800Mhz | iPod Mini | iPod Nano | Maxtor One Touch 250GB | Sony Ericsson T630
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2005, 05:00 AM
 
Originally Posted by monyx
Actually the 500DP is designated the 'Gigabit AGP' model and has from the specs sheet:
"Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Ethernet networking"
You're right. The dual G4/500 does have Gigabit Ethernet. I thought it was a single G4.
     
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2005, 06:43 AM
 

My office:

New Quad G5 with 4.5GB RAM, 30" Cinema, 15" PB 1.5GHz and also my old MDD 867 waiting for files to be transferred...

On the table, Behringrer active studio monitors and under the desk there's also a Behringer subwooofer that weighs over 60lbs and keeps my neighbors below happy ;D

Photo was taken with SE W800i in low light, sorry for the quality
     
sonicularulus
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2005, 05:01 AM
 
wow...love the equipment you have...notice i didnt say set up....mainly because your set up is quite messy...
i wish i were you...15 inch powerbook...is it the new high res version?
4.5 gigs of ram...
G5 quad.....
you are crazy rich.!
and w800....SHEESH! share the weath brotha! lol...
you should go for the quad display set up your quad system is capable of...
quad core
quad ram +.5 hehe
finish it up with quad display and quad terabytes of storage...lol
and call yourself the quadmyster
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,