Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > The New Power Mac Picture Thread

The New Power Mac Picture Thread (Page 8)
Thread Tools
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2005, 06:01 AM
 
The PB is the older version that has a decent display... No equipment is too much or too expensive when your profession and income relies entirely on them. (And also mortgage)

I also have my old 20" aluminum Cinema Display as a secondary display with the 30", but I'm going to sell it because there's really no need for a second display with the 30"

Crazy rich (and stupid) people buy rims or a sofa that costs as much as my setup, or a SUV that costs ten times more... SHEESH!

The W800i is a very nice camera/mp3 player and also a good phone, I even sold my iPod for it.
( Last edited by MDD867; Dec 4, 2005 at 06:11 AM. )
     
radwerx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2005, 10:40 AM
 
Here's my contribution to this excellent thread. I have just retired my Quicksilver and got a new G5. Didn't see many of the new dual cores here, so I though I would post mine just for fun. Enjoy.









( Last edited by radwerx; Dec 6, 2005 at 12:38 PM. )
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2005, 11:16 AM
 
I wondered what card that was at first, its unusually thin that 7800 GT is it? Does .4.3 come pre-installed with the Quads?
     
Chad A Wright
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2005, 11:19 AM
 
My Quad had 10.4.2 preinstalled. I had to do an update to get to .4.3. Wonderful machine. We finished my office this weekend, so I'll post pics as soon as I get a chance.
Chad Wright
Image Studios
The Journey Blog - http://chadwright.wordpress.com
     
radwerx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2005, 12:30 PM
 
nah. had to upgrade the installation. Yes all reference 7800s come with this thin heatsink fan combo, unlike the 6800s
     
2009059
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2005, 05:23 PM
 
Is that little chip/tab on the side of the card for SLI?? do you think SLI will be an option any time soon?
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 7, 2005, 12:06 AM
 
Nice setup radwex do you like how the computer is literally a focal point?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
radwerx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 7, 2005, 12:23 AM
 
Heh heh, I view it as a work tool, so attention or not doesn't matter to me very much. As for SLI, I don't think Apple to bring SLI to the Powermac anytime soon. The tab is probably a reference design and they just had to put in a new BIOS for it to work with our Macs.
     
Chris_here
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 8, 2005, 04:17 PM
 
my brand new setup; the pictures were taken on day two of my Quad-era. Day one I've spent hiding cords and cables.

- Powermac G5 Quad
- Apple Cinema HD 30" TFT
- Bose Companion 3 Spkrs


Chris_here
( Last edited by Chris_here; Jun 1, 2007 at 12:44 PM. )
     
HisDudeness
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 8, 2005, 05:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by Chris_here
this is my setup:
http://www.propr.ch/mysetup.html
http://www.propr.ch/mysetup2.html

- Powermac G5 Quad
- Apple Cinema HD 30" TFT
- Bose Companion 3 Spkrs


Chris_here

Wow! Very clean setup!
     
the macimum
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 8, 2005, 08:37 PM
 
I have heard good things about those Bose speakers, but I have also heard bad things, I'm sure they're good quality, but are they even optical audio? And I don't think they get very loud, 150 total watts? I believe. And they're not surround (which isn't that bad), is this true? Do you like them? Do you care?
     
Todd Madson
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Status: Offline
Dec 8, 2005, 09:29 PM
 
I've been putting this off since my place is a mess....


Transferring data from the G4/400 to the G5 2.5 dual.


Open side of the G5 2.5 dual.


With the monitors finally in place.

Someday I'll clean the studio and post a proper photo set.
( Last edited by Todd Madson; Dec 8, 2005 at 09:42 PM. Reason: Stupidity.)
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 8, 2005, 11:34 PM
 
Chris_here that is an amazingly simple but awesome setup. What are you going to use the Quad for? Todd, you sure got alot of stuff and not enough space to put stuff from what it looks like. ß
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
dreamryche
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Status: Offline
Dec 9, 2005, 02:19 AM
 
Todd: I want that Studio Preamp almost as much as I want a G5. Nice pile of stuff there.
     
Chris_here
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 9, 2005, 02:30 PM
 
Originally Posted by the macimum
I have heard good things about those Bose speakers, but I have also heard bad things, I'm sure they're good quality, but are they even optical audio? And I don't think they get very loud, 150 total watts? I believe. And they're not surround (which isn't that bad), is this true? Do you like them? Do you care?
yeah, I do care. they're pretty much what I was looking for, I like them, they're loud enough. But these ain't no studio monitors though. Funny thing is the day after I ordered them the price went up a 100 Swiss Francs ($80.-, at the apple store Switzerland).
     
Chris_here
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 9, 2005, 02:38 PM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
Chris_here that is an amazingly simple but awesome setup. What are you going to use the Quad for? Todd, you sure got alot of stuff and not enough space to put stuff from what it looks like. ß
Using it? Hey this is one piece of art, something to look at, nothing you "use"!
     
Todd Madson
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Status: Offline
Dec 13, 2005, 03:42 PM
 
Originally Posted by dreamryche
Todd: I want that Studio Preamp almost as much as I want a G5. Nice pile of stuff there.
There's a funny story behind how I got that Mesa preamp but I'll spare the G5
obsessed for the moment.

And if you'll notice there's also a TC Electronic BLD sitting on top of the rack.

It's basically one of several stompboxen but generally it's guitar -> boogie ->
Lexicon vortex -> mixer -> G5. Works pretty sweet I must admit especially
since I'm going digital out from the mixer and digital in on the G5. A cool rig.

Glad you like the setup, I just wish I could get the place cleaned up before the
holidays are over.
     
radical_librarian
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: STL
Status: Offline
Dec 13, 2005, 07:15 PM
 
Just got a dual 2 G5 today with 20" ACD & 7800 card (haven't unpacked it yet) -- nice to unload the 17" Applevision. New militant-radical librarian snap to come...

     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 14, 2005, 01:51 AM
 
What's the G5 replacing? I know it's a G4 PowerMac but which version of the G4?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
radical_librarian
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: STL
Status: Offline
Dec 15, 2005, 12:21 AM
 
Replacing g4 400 upgraded to 1.2 -- 8500 video card. Now have installed the G5 with 7800 and should have the 20" monitor tomorrow (FedX 'lost' the one I ordered, had to have the apple folks send another)http://forums.macnn.com/images/smili...school/eek.gif
     
iREZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Dec 16, 2005, 03:20 PM
 
i love the link to the wow smiley
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
saschagabor
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Status: Offline
Dec 19, 2005, 05:27 PM
 
Some pictures of my new setup

It`s a DC 2.0 with 160GB, 1,5GB, 6600 256MB, WLAN and BT. Connected to a 20" ACD.
The PB is a 12" 1,5GHz, 1,25MB, SD.




(More pictures if you follow the link above)
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Dec 19, 2005, 08:15 PM
 
Cool desktop wallpaper. Care to share
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 20, 2005, 12:08 AM
 
Awesome setup. Wireless everything, iSight I would never figure you would mount it like a security camera. Still, great setup.
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
smhub1
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Dec 20, 2005, 03:59 PM
 
saschagabor - I'm assuming the image your iSight displays is upside down, so how do you flip it and does it have any effect on the quality of the picture when video conferencing?
     
broxy5
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: no fixed address
Status: Offline
Dec 20, 2005, 04:13 PM
 
I'm going to guess iGlasses®.
     
sheer
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2001
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Dec 21, 2005, 03:34 PM
 
Some nice set ups in here, hopefully I'll get there at some point, but for now...

click for pic
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 21, 2005, 03:58 PM
 
It's a good start.
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 07:38 AM
 


     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 07:46 AM
 
Nice lighting effects in the top pic. Setup looks kinda cramped however...
     
Luisc
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 02:07 PM
 
trancepriest: What game are you playing?
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 02:28 PM
 
Nice setup Trancepriest, what did you do with the other two PowerMac's this time?
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
sith33
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 02:34 PM
 
Originally Posted by Luisc
trancepriest: What game are you playing?

Heh - He's playing Aperture
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Dec 23, 2005, 05:25 PM
 
Originally Posted by G5man
Nice setup Trancepriest, what did you do with the other two PowerMac's this time?
I sold the 2 dp 2.0's that I had... that's how I managed to acquire the Quad. Went to the Apple store in Boca and purchased the basic config... couldn't do anything the first day with only 512mb. The next day I ordered 2x1gb from Crucial and got 2x256mb from a friend that had discarded those sticks due to getting 4x2gb from Crucial. Still waiting on the sticks from Crucial... can't wait.... should be here any minute now, hopefully! Already been rescheduled once.
( Last edited by trancepriest; Dec 23, 2005 at 05:33 PM. )
     
monyx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 02:13 AM
 
My Dells arrived just before Xmas by courier, nice timing - but I couldn't wait for Xmas day.





MacPro 2.66Ghz X1900XT 3Gb/800Gb/ 24" LCD/ OSX 10.4.8
     
iREZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 03:33 AM
 
im jealous
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
Dumbo
Baninated
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 03:50 AM
 
A nice aluminum Power Mac G5 sided by plastic Dell screens? Yuck. No thanks.
     
monyx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 05:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dumbo
A nice aluminum Power Mac G5 sided by plastic Dell screens? Yuck. No thanks.
With $AUD 1700 in my pocket compared to 2x 23" ACD...I'll 'make do' with my plastic framed LCDs thanks - unfortunately we aren't all on unlimted, aesthetically driven budgets!
MacPro 2.66Ghz X1900XT 3Gb/800Gb/ 24" LCD/ OSX 10.4.8
     
G5man
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 04:03 PM
 
The Dell's are 2nd best brand you can get for LCD's.
Mac mini 1.42 Ghz 1GB RAM 80 GB HD + 160 GB External HD
     
voo
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Way up there!
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 06:01 PM
 
Dual setup is lurvy, that 2nd pic makes the 2405 look bigger!
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Dec 24, 2005, 10:39 PM
 
Originally Posted by voo
Dual setup is lurvy, that 2nd pic makes the 2405 look bigger!
Nice setup and poster! I see you have a lust for the ultimate video editing setup like I do. If the Dell 30's are super cheap... I will get two... I don't care if they are black... heck I'll paint em the same color as the G5. :-)
     
teerexx52
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Dec 26, 2005, 10:10 AM
 
Follow the link below to see pixs of my new Powermac Setup. Working great so far!


http://homepage.mac.com/psparaco/Spa...toAlbum85.html
     
///Milien
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my own little world
Status: Offline
Dec 26, 2005, 10:32 AM
 
Originally Posted by trancepriest


Trance - love the new Quad (and congrats)! Now you have me rethinking about getting one
 Mac Pro 8-Core 2.26GHz Xeon | 12GB RAM | 2.5TB HDD | ATI Radeon HD 4870 | 24" LED Cinema Display
 Mac mini [Unibody] 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo | 8GB RAM | 500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid HDD | 24" LED Cinema Display
 MacBook Air 1.6GHz Core 2 Duo | 4GB RAM | 256GB SDD
Too many accessories to list...
     
anim8ing
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2001
Status: Offline
Dec 26, 2005, 11:16 AM
 
Originally Posted by the macimum
It's kinda weird, from this angle, the g5 looks like it has a glossy finish, call me crazy, but the way the G4 casts a shadow on it.....

That's because he didn't pull off the clear protective sheet that comes on the side of the G5 when it's shipped. There is all kinds of protective plastic to remove from the machine (if you wish of course).
     
jebjeb
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Aussie in UK
Status: Offline
Dec 26, 2005, 06:43 PM
 
A bit messy, but here is my system. Haven't had time to clean things up as I only got the Quad on Friday.




Going to put a Zalman cooler on the 7800 in the Quad to quiet it down.

Will have to move everything around as it is warming my feet a little too much

Stole the speakers from the kitchen until I get something decent for the office.

Some of the Camera gear there. EOS 10D, 17-40 F4-L, 70-200 F4-L, 28-135 IS, 50 f1.4 plus heaps of other stuff I couldn't be bothered dragging out of my camera bag.

Think I might get a new 5D and relegate the 10D to backup. If I do get a 5D, I will probably get a 24-105 F4-L.

Very happy with the Formac 20". No dead pixels, nice a bright but also dims down enough. Great viewing angles. Ordered a Spyder2 Pro to keep it calibrated as well.
Though I would just get this and see what the new Dell 30" is like and how much it is going to cost. No great hurry though.

iMac G5 17" 1.8 downstairs. Going to sell it and replace with a new iBook when I go to the States in March.

Made the bench that is on. Just a shaped piece of MDF screwed to batons on the wall with a couple of extendable Ikea legs. Painted it with gloss paint so it it is nice and clean and smooth. Works well but I installed it a little too high and would like it bigger. I might rip it out and make a better one.
     
trevorM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 29, 2005, 12:00 AM
 
Originally Posted by jebjeb
A bit messy, but here is my system. Haven't had time to clean things up as I only got the Quad on Friday.




Going to put a Zalman cooler on the 7800 in the Quad to quiet it down.

Will have to move everything around as it is warming my feet a little too much

Stole the speakers from the kitchen until I get something decent for the office.

Some of the Camera gear there. EOS 10D, 17-40 F4-L, 70-200 F4-L, 28-135 IS, 50 f1.4 plus heaps of other stuff I couldn't be bothered dragging out of my camera bag.

Think I might get a new 5D and relegate the 10D to backup. If I do get a 5D, I will probably get a 24-105 F4-L.

Very happy with the Formac 20". No dead pixels, nice a bright but also dims down enough. Great viewing angles. Ordered a Spyder2 Pro to keep it calibrated as well.
Though I would just get this and see what the new Dell 30" is like and how much it is going to cost. No great hurry though.

iMac G5 17" 1.8 downstairs. Going to sell it and replace with a new iBook when I go to the States in March.

Made the bench that is on. Just a shaped piece of MDF screwed to batons on the wall with a couple of extendable Ikea legs. Painted it with gloss paint so it it is nice and clean and smooth. Works well but I installed it a little too high and would like it bigger. I might rip it out and make a better one.
Why not get some decent glass with f2.8 instead of all F4 all the time? You might not need the 5D unless you need full frame.
Apple Powermac G5: Dual 1.85GHz | 80Gb System | 3Gb Ram | GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL | BT | Airport | Apple 30" Cinema HD Display Apple Powerbook AL G4: 12" | 1.5Ghz | 60b System | 1.25Gb Ram | Airport | BT Other: Airport Express | Airport Extreme | TiG4 PB 800Mhz | 20" iMac G5 w/ built in iSight | Swivel Screen iMac G4 800Mhz | iPod Mini | iPod Nano | Maxtor One Touch 250GB | Sony Ericsson T630
     
jebjeb
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Aussie in UK
Status: Offline
Dec 29, 2005, 05:44 AM
 
Originally Posted by trevorM
Why not get some decent glass with f2.8 instead of all F4 all the time? You might not need the 5D unless you need full frame.
"Decent glass"! You're kidding right? Just because it is not the fattest glass doesn't mean that it is not good. Most people who have used both the F2.8 IS and the F4 70-200 believe that the F4 has the nicest bokeh and is the sharper lense out of the two. It would be great to have the extra stop and the IS but for 3 times the price of the F4, it is not worth it to me.

Same for the 17-40 v 16-35. Double the price for the 16-35 for an extra mm and an extra stop.

The 28-135 IS is a left over from my EOS 3 but is still a very usable lense.

I would like to get back to full frame. Love the big, bright viewfinder and I have more use of the wide end rather than the long end so the 1.6 crop factor is more of a hinder than help to me.
     
jmgriff
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Dec 29, 2005, 03:51 PM
 
Originally Posted by jebjeb
Very happy with the Formac 20". No dead pixels, nice a bright but also dims down enough. Great viewing angles. Ordered a Spyder2 Pro to keep it calibrated as well.
Though I would just get this and see what the new Dell 30" is like and how much it is going to cost. No great hurry though.
Can I ask how the Formac display compares to the borrowed 20" ACD ? ... I'm interested in getting one.
     
jebjeb
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Aussie in UK
Status: Offline
Dec 29, 2005, 05:53 PM
 
Originally Posted by jmgriff
Can I ask how the Formac display compares to the borrowed 20" ACD ? ... I'm interested in getting one.
I'm extremely happy with it! Love the extra resolution (1600x1200 v 1680x1050).

The pedestal type leg (like the old cineama displays) is not as good as the new cinema display mounts (and certainly not as good as more versatile, multi axis mounting systems). The most vertical position is still not as upright as I would like so I have something sitting under the rear foot to hold it more upright.

The USB ports on the Formac are only USB 1.1.

I do notice the better contrast on the Formac compared to the Apple.

Have only slightly noticed the faster pixel response (playing Americas Army) on the Formac.

The surround of the Formac is Piano Black and it extends all the way across the bevel to the screen itself. The image edge reflects slightly on the sides which, initailly, I found annoying but now it reminds me of the reflection in iChat video chat and in FrontRow. Only a minor thing though.

The Formac also has a 3 year warranty.

Big one for me was the Formac is £340 while the Apple is £550. I believe the Formac is also the better display. It seemed weird going with an "old" style 4:3 display instead of a widescreen (which I was used to with a PowerBook and a G5 iMac), but I do really love the extra vertical resolution.

I was lucky to get one with no dead or stuck pixels. But being the good 'ol UK, by buying mail order, one can return it for a full refund for no reason within ten days. this was my plan if I had any dead pixels. I think there policy on the Raven displays is a maximum of 5 dead pixels.

All in all, I'm very happy and highly recommend it.
     
trevorM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Dec 29, 2005, 06:27 PM
 
Originally Posted by jebjeb
"Decent glass"! You're kidding right? Just because it is not the fattest glass doesn't mean that it is not good. Most people who have used both the F2.8 IS and the F4 70-200 believe that the F4 has the nicest bokeh and is the sharper lense out of the two. It would be great to have the extra stop and the IS but for 3 times the price of the F4, it is not worth it to me.

Same for the 17-40 v 16-35. Double the price for the 16-35 for an extra mm and an extra stop.

The 28-135 IS is a left over from my EOS 3 but is still a very usable lense.

I would like to get back to full frame. Love the big, bright viewfinder and I have more use of the wide end rather than the long end so the 1.6 crop factor is more of a hinder than help to me.
Sounds like I am going to have to jump out and give the 70-200mm F4 a go.

I'd like to go full frame too, but the price of the 5D in Australia is a little too steep (sigh).
Apple Powermac G5: Dual 1.85GHz | 80Gb System | 3Gb Ram | GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL | BT | Airport | Apple 30" Cinema HD Display Apple Powerbook AL G4: 12" | 1.5Ghz | 60b System | 1.25Gb Ram | Airport | BT Other: Airport Express | Airport Extreme | TiG4 PB 800Mhz | 20" iMac G5 w/ built in iSight | Swivel Screen iMac G4 800Mhz | iPod Mini | iPod Nano | Maxtor One Touch 250GB | Sony Ericsson T630
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,