Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Brand new to mac and need a little help

Brand new to mac and need a little help
Thread Tools
jjaygirl
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 03:43 AM
 
I just bought a macbook today and love it so far except I cannot seem to be able to figure out how to make the page I'm viewing go to full screen? I clicked on the little green button on the top corner but it just goes about 2/3rd of the size... also is there a way to create shortcuts to my desktop...how do I do auto fill for my info...like I said I am a mac newbie so will have lots of ?'s
Thank you
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 03:47 AM
 
Welcome to Macintosh!

The green button doesn't maximize. It ajusts to something "suitable". At least that's the idea. Sometimes that doesn't work like you want it to. Resize the window manually to go full screen.

Shortcuts are called aliases in OS X. You can create an alias (File menu, right-click, ctrl-click, or cmd-L) of any file, folder, or partition (including those on a server) and then drag it to the desktop. Or you hold opt and cmd while you drag to do it all in one step. Note that the mouse pointer shows you the alias badge as soon as you hit opt and cmd to indicate you will be creating an alias rather than copying or moving the file.

Safari does auto fill. Firefox as well.
     
jjaygirl  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 04:07 AM
 
Thank you for your quick reply...I don't even know how to make the screen larger manually or drag things...I guess I'm so used to windows it will take some patience
Thanks again for your advise
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 04:37 AM
 
The bottom right hand corner of the window has three little diagonal lines. You drag those to manually resize the window.
     
jjaygirl  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 10:46 AM
 
Thanks so much Simon
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2008, 11:46 PM
 
Welcome to the Mac and MacNN. And thank you for not making the usual new initiate mistake of capitalizing Mac as an acronym like MAC!

As far as full-size windows and other aspects of the user interface you'll run into, the Mac environment is different from what you're used to on Windows. Many Windows users are accustomed to using fully maximized windows. The Mac, on the other hand, encourages users to only use windows as large as they need to be to easily display most content. Many of us think this is more conducive to multitasking. I for one believe it's much harder to effectively multitask on Windows for many reasons, including this one.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2008, 05:12 AM
 
Yay! we got another switcher

Well, if for any reason you miss or want a full-screen (kiosk mode) browser you could use Plainview, a free download from the folks of the 'The Barbarian Group'. There are some plug-ins that let you do it so with Safari and there are some other browsers like iCab which comes with such working feature out of the box.

Please don't take me wrong but Apple is going to introduce new laptops (MacBooks & MacBooks Pro) next Tuesday so I wonder, would it make any sense to return that MacBook and get a new model next week?, I mean, there is nothing bad or wrong with your MacBook, but being a new Mac user I guess we may let you know about it. What do other members think about it?

Anyhow, rest assured you are going to enjoy the Mac world, lot of us use another systems besides the Mac so we mostly can speak about it with propriety… I mean, this is not 'ignorance speaking' at all.
     
shifuimam
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The deep backwoods of Idaho
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2008, 04:54 PM
 
You can also try something like megazoomer or Stoplight to mimic true maximization like in Windows.
Sell or send me your vintage Mac things if you don't want them.
     
EndlessMac
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2008, 07:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by jjaygirl View Post
I just bought a macbook today and love it so far except I cannot seem to be able to figure out how to make the page I'm viewing go to full screen? I clicked on the little green button on the top corner but it just goes about 2/3rd of the size... also is there a way to create shortcuts to my desktop...how do I do auto fill for my info...like I said I am a mac newbie so will have lots of ?'s
Thank you
I also prefer using the whole screen for most applications too because I usually don't like scrolling too much to see everything. It's like buying a 30 inch screen and only using half of it.

It can also get a bit confusing when I have several programs opened at once and they are all scattered throughout the desktop especially if the programs have similar looking skins. Of course everyone has their own preference and it depends on how your mind works. In Windows you don't have to maximize everything to fill the screen either but I prefer to do so.

As it has been mentioned above just pull and drag the bottom right corner which is pretty much true for any program or window you have open in your Mac. Sometimes the green button will maximize just like in Windows but usually it doesn't. It just depends on the software programmer. Just maximize the window manually and it should remember the same location and size the next time you open the program. Once you do that then you can use the yellow button to minimize and then click on the program in the taskbar to "maximize". That's pretty much the equivalent to maximize and minimize I have found on Macs.

As for shortcuts I hardly ever use desktop shortcuts anymore. You can drag all your icons to the "taskbar" and Mac will automatically create a shortcut for you. Window's taskbar only shows what programs are open but with Mac it allows you to place shortcuts there and it will also tell which programs are currently open. Just click the icons in the taskbar and your programs will open.
     
jjaygirl  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2008, 11:31 AM
 
Thanks for your responses your all making my dive into mac all that less intimidating! I was converted the minute I turned it on! just amazes me and a bit overwhelming
A couple of more questions, first off I have decided to use my macbook as my only computer..I do still have my dell pc but am absolutely frustrated it hence the macbook. I bought a wireless router (Lynksys N broadband router) I want to set it up but don't know if I should be doing it on the macbook or my pc...I guess I'm wondering if I set the router up on my macbook how could it be wireless?
Also when I log into a forum or email it gives the option to remember the password on the computer, I click yes but it's not doing it?
Once again thank you for the help
     
jretzner
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2008, 12:36 PM
 
I bought a wireless router (Lynksys N broadband router) I want to set it up but don't know if I should be doing it on the macbook or my pc...I guess I'm wondering if I set the router up on my macbook how could it be wireless?
At one time I needed two Ethernet ports on my Mac. I used a hard wired Lyksys router to connect with both my laser printer and the Internet. It worked fine for me on my Mac.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2008, 01:16 PM
 
Originally Posted by jjaygirl View Post
Also when I log into a forum or email it gives the option to remember the password on the computer, I click yes but it's not doing it?
Make sure you have these options enabled on Safari Preferences…

AutoFill pane:
'User names and passwords' and 'Other forms'


Security pane, Accept cookies
'Only from sites you navigate to'
To enable "Always" would be the easiest way but that would include a bunch of cookies you don't really need.
     
jjaygirl  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2008, 01:48 PM
 
Thanks for the help
http://www.telus.com/portalWeb/inlin...ms/?_region=BC
this is the gateway router I have( High Speed Enhanced, Extreme one) I'm hoping I can connect it to my linksys one to make my mac wireless
     
Mike JB
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 14, 2008, 09:54 PM
 
I found this little gem on the Mac discussions, it's a little hard to do but well worth a full screen.
Highlight the below Javascript then click, hold and drag it to your safari bookmarks bar. it will ask you to rename it, I used "Fullscreen", now click on whatever you name it in the bookmarks bar and you have every bit of a full screen.

javascript:self.moveTo(0,0);self.resizeTo(screen.a vailWidth,screen.availHeight);

Mike
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,