Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Radeon 8500 and UT

Radeon 8500 and UT
Thread Tools
aloner
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madrid, Spain
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2003, 07:20 AM
 
I just upgraded my PowerMac MDD dual 867 to an ATI Radeon 8500 from a GeForce4MX.

With the GeForce, I used to play UT under OS 9.2.2 with no problems, however after upgrading to the Radeon 8500, the Rave option is not highlighted and I am forced to use Software Rendering as Game Engine. (awful textures).

I have plenty of RAM (1,25 GB), so I don´t think it´s a lack of memory problem.
I´ve done a complete restore of 9.2.2 with no success.

Any ideas?.
Thanks a lot
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2003, 10:54 AM
 
Have you installed the latest Radeon driver package? Might make a difference.
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
aloner  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madrid, Spain
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2003, 10:57 AM
 
Yes, I am using the latest ATI drivers package (October 2002), but it made no difference

Thanks
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2003, 06:15 PM
 
Have you tried the UT OpenGL application to see if the card will allow you to play under OpenGL instead of RAVE? It's admittedly been a while since I've booted into OS 9, so I must admit that my memories of how to troubleshoot 9 are growing fuzzier by the day...
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
aloner  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madrid, Spain
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2003, 12:29 PM
 
i´ve set it up to play using OpenGL. Thanks for the advice.
     
a2daj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2003, 06:14 PM
 
Rave rendering should work fine with the Radeon 8500. In fact, you'll want to use Rave instead of OpenGL because of graphical glitches and slight performance issues.

Did you try dumping the UT prefs in your Preferences folder? I'm not sure but that might store which APIs are available for your system.
     
ReggieX
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, ON
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2003, 09:07 PM
 
^^^ Argh, beaten.

You have to trash the UnrealTournament.ini, since it stores what your rendering device is. I have an 8500 and it runs UT very well.
The Lord said 'Peter, I can see your house from here.'
     
aloner  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madrid, Spain
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2003, 01:05 PM
 
Thanks for the support. I´ve tried every trick and still can not get Rave to work. I believe it has something to do with the OS 9 version I´m using....
(OS 9.2.2 restore version in a PowerMac Dual MDD 867).

I wished I could install OS 9.1 or OS 9.2.1 but this Mac won´t let me.

Anyway, I'm getting used to running it in OpenGL mode.

Thanks again
     
a2daj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2003, 04:22 PM
 
Hmmm...

Go into your OS 9 Extensions folder and trash the QuickDraw™ 3D RAVE file. Then run the QuickTime updater to reinstall an older version of QuickDraw™ 3D RAVE (1.6 I believe). Yes, you run the QuickTime updater to update the QuickDraw 3D files
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2003, 08:12 PM
 
Originally posted by a2daj:
Rave rendering should work fine with the Radeon 8500. In fact, you'll want to use Rave instead of OpenGL because of graphical glitches and slight performance issues.
Is this true? I thought Rave was an outdated, deprecated technology.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2003, 11:37 PM
 
Yes, but the OpenGL version of UT is just plain buggy. It was originally built to run on RAVE, so you'll get slightly better results using RAVE.
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,