Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Should I be able to boot Applecare (Techtools) CD in Panther?

Should I be able to boot Applecare (Techtools) CD in Panther?
Thread Tools
7racer
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 15, 2004, 11:30 PM
 
I have a new 17" 1.5ghz powerbook

I was trying to boot into the techtools cd...but the computer just hangs...

Is this a known problem?
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2004, 01:49 PM
 
Originally posted by 7racer:
I have a new 17" 1.5ghz powerbook

I was trying to boot into the techtools cd...but the computer just hangs...

Is this a known problem?
Hum, I just received the Apple Care box this week, I have not tried it yet with my 17" 1 GHz PB. Hope can give it a try later.
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2004, 02:01 PM
 
Yeah, the AppleCare CDs are always a version behind, they can never boot the very latest Mac models.

Note that it makes no difference what OS you have installed on the hard drive.

In any case, wait a few weeks, then call Apple, and get them to send a new CD. You may have to try a few times: in the past, people have had trouble with Apple sending them the same (unusable) version repeatedly, until finally getting a warehouse manager on the phone to actually fish out a copy of the correct version.

Macintouch.com has an extensive discussion on this.

tooki
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2004, 05:32 PM
 
Please, let me know, I bought the AppleCare for PowerBook, I must assume that the cd is the same to all the PowerBooks out there, right?, the cdrom says Mac OS X 10.1 or later.

My 17" PB is the 1 GHz model.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:14 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,