Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Time Capsule: Server Grade HD, or Total BS?

Time Capsule: Server Grade HD, or Total BS?
Koralatov
Senior User
Mar 1, 2008, 10:02 AM

I came across this photoset of the Time Capsule being torn open on my travels, and it raised some serious questions about the truth of Apple's claim that it uses a "server grade" hard-disk in it. Specifically this photo of the hard-disk used inside it. I'm no expert on hard-disks, but I'm reasonably certain that a Hitachi (née IBM) Deskstars aren't "server grade" hard-disks—I think they're just standard desktop HDs.

Now, granted the term "server grade" is slightly vague to begin with, but I took it to mean it was somehow a toughened drive rather than an off-the-shelf desktop drive. Am I totally off the beaten path here, or is Apple's use of "server grade" hard disks a bit of marketing speak?

ghporter
Administrator
Mar 1, 2008, 10:50 AM

I do think the use of the term "server grade" is intentionally vague, but then what is "server grade" hardware anyway? Parts with a very high Mean Time Before Failure? Deskstars have that. Low power consumption and thus low heat production? Deskstars have that too.

In other words, while there seems to be some hyperbole here, what drives would YOU select for a server (that runs SATA drives)?

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx

mduell
Posting Junkie
Mar 1, 2008, 12:24 PM

If they're going to call it server grade, I'd expect something like a Hitachi Ultrastar or Seagate ES2. Drives designed with higher MTBF, enhanced vibration tolerance, and longer warranties.