Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > Elgato Turbo.264

Elgato Turbo.264
Kenneth
Addicted to MacNN
May 16, 2007, 06:14 PM

The same company which bought us EyeTV, now it offers Turbo.264. It's a hardware based h.264 encoder via USB 2.0 for $100. Well, I do a lot of h.264 encoding, but not for Apple TV, iPod, or the Sony PSP device.

After reading all the FAQs, I'm likely to get one. Meanwhile, I had no prior experience with elgato, how's the support and hardware/software quality?

nerd
Senior User
May 16, 2007, 06:55 PM

I have no experience with them but that screen shot that says 22fps scares me. My quad MacPro gets 55fps in Handbrake when encoding DVDs. Thing is they're also comparing it to Apple's h.264 encoder which is really slow compared to ffmpeg, etc.

mduell
Posting Junkie
May 16, 2007, 07:20 PM

Looks like a rebadged ADS Instant Video To Go with a higher price.

Kenneth  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
May 17, 2007, 12:21 AM

I read about that ADS product over on the HandBrake forum. Anyway, adstech.com is extremely difficult to find the exact product. I noticed the 22 fps screenshot as well.

My DP G5 2.0 w/2.5GB of Ram can get ~16 fps under HandBrake (PS3 preset). I guess I'm gonna make my decision after reading some reviews or real world testing.

nerd
Senior User
May 31, 2007, 08:36 PM

I just got my Turbo.264 in today and here's some quick tests. I did all these tests on a 1:43 long DV clip. I chose this clip because I was already comparing the speed of x.264 over h.264. The last 2 will probably be the ones of interest to you guys.