Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Looking for some good new music

Looking for some good new music
memento
Mac Elite
Aug 28, 2003, 08:46 PM

ok. I'm in need of some new music. I'll give many suggestions a listen, but I'm picky. I like music that is deep, strange, heavy, melodic, powerful, and passionate. I'm also an accomplished bassist and drummer, so I like progressive music like Rush, Primus and Fates Warning. Some of my favorite bands now are The Gathering, Skyclad, System of a Down, Evanescence, Tool, Devin Townsend. I could write a book about how I feel about music, but I'll spare you all! I'm not looking to debate over genres. What I'm looking for now is passionate, heavy, and melodic. Think system of a Down and Tool type stuff. Some of their music literally sends a chill down my back. That level of intensity is rare, but that's what I want to find more of. Travel from The Gathering practically brings tears to my eyes, the way that she belts out the end of the song with all of her being.

Looks like I rambled a bit. Suggestions for new bands please!
"Destroy your ego. Trust your brain. Destroy your beliefs. Trust your divinity." -Danny Carey

MacPro Quad 2.66, G4 MDD dual 867, 23" Cinema Display and 17" LCD, G4 Quicksilver dual 800, 12" Powerbook 867, iMac 300 Grape, B&W G3/300 with G4/450 running yellowdog, iPod 5GB, iPod mini, PowerCenter 150, Powercenter 132 tower, Performa 6116, Quadra 700, MacSE, LC II, eMate 300

Sherwin
Professional Poster
Aug 28, 2003, 08:51 PM

Try a bit of this. Good stuff.

Cipher13
Aug 28, 2003, 08:52 PM

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...hreadid=174371

Just posted some suggestions