Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Compiling RATS

Compiling RATS
Nerozwei
Forum Regular
Feb 8, 2004, 05:47 PM

I'd like to try out RATS, but have problems in getting it to work. I installed GCC from the dev tools disc, but the installer script complains that there's no GCC. I noticed the compiler is GCC2.

Any chances of getting it to work? If anyone knows, please let me know. I'm new with this stuff, so please hold my hand and walk me through the process

Moonray
Mac Elite
Feb 8, 2004, 07:39 PM

There should be a gcc too. Do a which gcc, it should reply "/usr/bin/gcc". If not there's something wrong with your Developer Tools installation.

-

kvm_mkdb
Mac Elite
Feb 8, 2004, 08:01 PM

Originally posted by Nerozwei:
I'd like to try out RATS, but have problems in getting it to work. I installed GCC from the dev tools disc, but the installer script complains that there's no GCC. I noticed the compiler is GCC2.

Any chances of getting it to work? If anyone knows, please let me know. I'm new with this stuff, so please hold my hand and walk me through the process
You should install the recommended XCode Tools. The compiler alone will likely not be enough for OSS projects like RATS.

Contra a barbárie, o estudo; Contra o individualismo, a solidariedade!

Moonray
Mac Elite
Feb 8, 2004, 08:29 PM

Originally posted by kvm_mkdb:
You should install the recommended XCode Tools. The compiler alone will likely not be enough for OSS projects like RATS.
Okay, mr. lounge poster, would you mind telling us where it says that you would need Xcode to compile that?