Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > It's not just an OS, it's a lifestyle...

It's not just an OS, it's a lifestyle...
MrsLarry
Senior User
Nov 3, 2009, 10:55 AM

Maybe I've just been brainwashed, maybe their marketing folks have got me by the you know what, but I had a realization on the drive to work this morning. It's not just an Operating System, it's a lifestyle. When I tell people I'm a graphic designer I usually get "Oh, that's why you use a mac".

Well, yes and no. I bought a mac in college, because that's what we were learning on. I kept a mac all this time because it's a beautiful. I mean, hey, I don't need to tell you folks. It's intuitive, and it works, and it's lovely.

I want an iPhone. My Windows Mobile Phone is nice, and it does what I need it to do, but, hello integration!! I'm just waiting for some better (read 'less expensive') data plans, and then I make my move.

I can't imagine, even years from now, just saying... "Whatever, we'll just get a Dell from [Big Box Retailer]" It would just seem wrong.

Paco500
Professional Poster
Nov 3, 2009, 10:58 AM

I'd like to think it's a completely practical choice with me, but I bought a PB 5300 "fireball." So maybe it is religion.

SpaceMonkey
Addicted to MacNN
Nov 3, 2009, 11:02 AM

Originally Posted by Paco500 View Post
I'd like to think it's a completely practical choice with me, but I bought a PB 5300 "fireball." So maybe it is religion.
Was that your burning bush moment? Did you hear Steve speak to you?

"One ticket to Washington, please. I have a date with destiny."

Paco500
Professional Poster
Nov 3, 2009, 11:28 AM

Originally Posted by SpaceMonkey View Post