Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Hardware Test in Yosemite?

Hardware Test in Yosemite?
Thread Tools
Buck_W
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2015, 07:36 PM
 
I have an older MacBook Pro (2009) running the most recent version of Yosemite. Is there a way to run a Hardware Test or Apple Diagnostic test? Holding down the D (or Option+D) doesn't work on my older MacBook Pro, and booting into Recovery mode simply gives me the option of using Disk Utility.
17" MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo | 320G HD | 8 GB RAM | 10.10.3
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2015, 10:47 AM
 
It should be there still. Perhaps a silly point to make, but you have to turn the MBP completely off, then turn it on and immediately after press D, holding it down until the AHT symbol shows up. I also think you should use the built-in keyboard on an MBP.

If you still have an optical drive, you can also trigger it using the install discs. Insert the "Applications Install Disc 2" and do the same thing as above (turn off, back on, hold D).
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Buck_W  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2015, 04:39 PM
 
From what I have been able to discover, the install disk is required for a MacBook Pro as old as mine. My optical drive died years ago. I have two external optical drives, but wasn't able to complete the test on either of them. I was able to boot up into the AHT and actually start the test, but it only went a few seconds before completely stopping. Everything was unresponsive. I had to hold down the power button to restart. That happened on both external drives. So much for that. Anybody aware of any other options?
17" MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo | 320G HD | 8 GB RAM | 10.10.3
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2015, 06:02 AM
 
If it has booted, the external optical should not affect things. I suspect that the act that your computer freezes in AHT is a good indication that something is wrong with your hardware. I would start experimenting with pulling DIMMs.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,