Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Developer Center > customize HTML form

customize HTML form
Thread Tools
tumb
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2004
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2005, 09:21 PM
 
Hello

As you can see on macromedia homepage, when you click in the search area on the right, it displays a green border color.
How can I do that ?

thx in advance
     
jay3ld
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2005, 11:09 PM
 
Search code
[HTML] <form id="globalnav-search" class="en" name="globalnav-search" method="get" action="/go/gnav_search" accept-charset="utf-8"><input type="hidden" name="loc" value="en_us" /><input type="text" id="search-input" name="term" tabindex="14" /><div id="searchDIV">Search<input type="image" id="search" src="/images/alpha/blank.gif" alt="Search" tabindex="15" /></div></form>
[/HTML]

there main css file
http://www.macromedia.com/css/homepage_import_final.css

id look around that css for the input

but thats how its done
     
tumb  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2004
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2005, 11:51 PM
 
thanx 4 your answer jay, but I still don't understand.

You can see in their css file :

Code:
#globalnav #globalnav-search { position: absolute; top: 0; right: 0; z-index: 2; color: #000; padding: 0; border: 0; margin: 0; width: 188px; height: 35px} #search-input { position: absolute; top: 2px; left: 3px; background-color: #fff; padding: 0; border: 1px solid; border-color: #828a8a #a1a9a9 #dce3e3 #a1a9a9; margin: 5px 0 0 3px; line-height: 20px; color: #000; height: 18px !important; height: 20px; /* IE 6 */ }
I thought the green color was due to the border-color in the CSS, but as an example, when I'm checking #828a8a in Photoshop, it's a dark green and not the one displayed on MM site.

Any idea ?
     
jay3ld
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2005, 01:00 AM
 
Originally Posted by woa
it displays a green border color.
Originally Posted by woa
Code:
border-color: #828a8a #a1a9a9 #dce3e3 #a1a9a9;

you basically just answered yourself. lol. well you going to have to use a css file to make it that color.
     
PurpleGiant
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2005, 03:18 AM
 
The whole navigation/search field at the top is a flash file, so CSS styling would not apply in this case.
     
Millennium
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2005, 06:54 AM
 
Note that this does not work in Safari or Camino, because Aqua widgets cannot be made to respond to styling.
You are in Soviet Russia. It is dark. Grue is likely to be eaten by YOU!
     
tumb  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2004
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2005, 07:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by PurpleGiant
The whole navigation/search field at the top is a flash file, so CSS styling would not apply in this case.

thanx a lot mate
     
   
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,