Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > MacBook Pro Battery all over the place

MacBook Pro Battery all over the place
Thread Tools
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 15, 2012, 06:06 PM
 
I've seen lots of threads on Apple's discussion page, but no answers that've helped me. Was hoping someone here might've ran into this issue and had a solution.

I have a 15" MacBook Pro, latest one. OS X Lion, all updates. It has a 250GB SSD and 8GB of RAM. The battery seems to only last about 2 to 3 hours. If I bring down the battery pull down menu, it flucutates all over the place every few times I pull it down. Sometimes it's almost 6 hours, sometimes it's only an hour and a half. This is with a full charge.

I did a top -o and there's nothing running that's taking more than 1% or 2% of the CPU. So it's not some errant program or process hogging the CPU.

Any ideas?
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
l008com
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Stoneham, MA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 15, 2012, 06:55 PM
 
You can use Activity Monitor to get a longer term view of CPU use. Change it so it only updates every 5 seconds. Do you tend to leave lots of browser windows open? Do you browse sites that are heavy on flash ads? That stuff can chew up your battery very fast.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2012, 07:38 AM
 
I agree that you should start with Activity Monitor, but if that doesn't work, take a look at Dtrace. I hardly know how to use it myself, but whenever I try I'm amazed how much information you can get.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
olePigeon  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2012, 11:45 AM
 
I'll give those a try, thanks.
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
SierraDragon
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Truckee, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2012, 12:12 PM
 
It is under warranty so IMO talk to Apple. It is good to document anomalies (my 2011 SSD MBP does not behave that way).

-Allen
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2012, 04:23 PM
 
What's your brightness set to? Are you using integrated graphics or not? Bluetooth? Wifi?

Yeah, 2 to 3 hours doesn't seem so great, especially if this is from a clean reboot and you don't open any applications.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,