Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Pleasant surprise with my PB 12" refurb purchase

Pleasant surprise with my PB 12" refurb purchase
Thread Tools
junebug630
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 01:06 AM
 
Finally broke down and bought a Powerbook. I couldn't afford the one I wanted (17" ) and I cringed at the high prices on ebay for PB even 2 years old. ($1570 for a 1Ghz 15" with chipping paint?) I actually promised my niece that I would buy her a laptop for college (James Madison U, she wants a Dell - don't even ask) so with that purchase I was down inthe dumps. Then this Tuesday morning I said F*** it and ordered a P12.1"/1.33Ghz/256Ram/60GB HD/Super Drive refurb on Apple's site $1299 for those keeping score. I paid for 2 day shipping and it arrived at my office this morning. I unfortunately was busting a** at the other office location so didn't even get to see the box until this evening. I have been playing around with it ever since thinking: the screen is alright, the machine seems sort of snappy for 256MB and a 4200 rpm HD.... I finally discovered the system profiler and here is what it said:
1.5Ghz/512MB Ram/80GB Hd- fujitsu MHT2080AH (5400)/SuperDrive (Matshita- DVD-R UJ-835E) speed ? 4x i think .Nvidia GeForce G5200 with 64MB Ram - this sounds like the specs on a new machine almost! I was very happy. I have already ordered the Kingmax 1GB ram which arrives Monday.
I have just realized that these many weeks reading posts and playing around with Macs at the Tysons Apple Store have ill prepared me to actually know how to do anything. the machines in the store all are locked and didn't let you install anything. I don't even know how to burn a disk yet! On windows I routinely burn 15-20/week. I have the Missing Manual for Panther and will start with that this weekend, (and what a long weekend it will be) but had a few questions:
1) The machine comes with Panther installed, but ships with Tiger and iLife 05 DVDs. I want to install Tiger ASAP should I do an upgrade or full install ( this is my first mac so I have 0 files on this machine) does it make a difference?
2) I have tried to un (zip) sit some files I have with Stuffit on the Mac - (12-15 files in sequential order) but the Stuffit program keeps hanging and crashing on me? I am used to Winrar automatically doing it for me am I messing up?
3) Had no trouble getting on the internet both wirelessly and through ethernet, but for whatever reason when I go to the network in preferences or in finder it doesn't see any of my network in Windows. Could I get some help please? Thanks. I have to get to sleep sometime tonight because I have to be at work early tomorrow so I will say goodbye and just add if there is anyone on the fence about getting one of these machines, PB, and you have the money - Go for it! I have barely started and have already been pleasantly surprised.
PS - the keyboard on the powerbook is the best I have used thus far on any machine.
     
TheIceMan
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Trapped in the depths of my mind
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 01:38 AM
 
junebug630: First, congrats on your "new" Powerbook. I just got back from watching the Fantastic Four and so my brain is still in movie mode. But, I'll try to answer some of your questions.

1)...should I do an upgrade or full install?
Full Install. Nothing like installing things fresh.

2) I have tried to un (zip) sit some files I have with Stuffit on the Mac...but the Stuffit program keeps hanging and crashing on me.
Make sure you have the lastest version of StuffIt Expander.

Good luck and welcome.
     
Kyros
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 02:47 AM
 
Oh and you did get a current revision powerbook, so the reason the specs seem like new is that you laptop is the same one people are paying $1699 for currently. Lucky purchase there!
g4/1.5 GHz 12 inch powerbook / 1.25 RAM / 80 gig / Superdrive / 10.5.6
g3/400 MHz Pismo / 640 RAM / 40 gig / Combo Drive / 10.3.9
     
zanyterp
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: manticore or people's republic of haven
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 03:59 AM
 
congrats on you pb!

in the network preference pane, you are setting up the network information (ip, host, etc); so you wouldn't see your windows network (at least if i read your post right, that is where you are at). what type of windows network do you have? after sharing the disks, you may (can someone verify?) still have to select the machine to log into (cmd-k or Go>Connec to server).

since you have not put anything on your hd yet, i would say go ahead and do the full install. i chose upgrade and have not had a problem with it; others have had more success with the full install.

are the files .zip or .sit(x)?
some people are like slinkys: they don't do much, but are fun to push down stairs.
     
TerryJ
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 05:05 AM
 
Congrats on your fantastic deal on a great machine! You are always welcome to let me know if I can be of any help as I work with new users every day in my business.

TerryJ
Apple Certified Help Desk Specialist
Apple Product Professional
Apple Consultants Network
http://www.maxyourmacs.com
     
crazeazn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: houston/dfw
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 11:38 AM
 
for the network issue

go into your system preferences, click sharing, then flip on personal file sharing and windows file sharing.

worse case open a finder window, click the globe with the question mark and type: "smb://192.168.2.1" fill in ur ip address...

good luck!
12" AI book REV B, mac mini core duo 1.66
     
Pennstate
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 04:24 PM
 
I also went the Recertified route but it wasn't as smooth. I ordered the 12" 1.33GHZ Combo for $1099. I decided not to go with the new 1.5Ghz because iScroll does the same thing as the new scrollpad. I have no need for BT, DVD burning etc. I rather save the money on a $100 1GB ram and a Superdrive later off of Ebay for $100. The first one that I got was all beat up. Apple declared it DOA and sent me a replacement. The second one was nice, but the hard drive failed within the first 2 weeks. It was repaired, but the screen got scratched in the process. Since it was still within the 30 days. They agreed to replace the screen. It wasn't pleasant, but Applecare did try hard to accomodate me.

But $1099+$100 1GB newegg ram is one hell of a deal compared to a new 12" iBook.
     
junebug630  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2005, 05:30 PM
 
Did you purchase Applecare right when you started having problems or did they replace it under the regular warranty.
Update: My 1GB Ram just came in today, off to Sears for a philliips size 00 screwdriver!
     
Pennstate
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 16, 2005, 01:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by junebug630
Did you purchase Applecare right when you started having problems or did they replace it under the regular warranty.
Update: My 1GB Ram just came in today, off to Sears for a philliips size 00 screwdriver!

I didn't purchase AppleCare. But within the 1st 30 days, they treat you like as if you did
     
junebug630  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 20, 2005, 10:45 AM
 
Well an update of sorts. I installed the Ram and bumped my machine up to 1.25 ghz. It didn't really seem any faster, just didn't page out as often. I upgraded to Tiger (clean ) and admit that I liked the widgets that I initially thought were a gimmick. Having all those available at the Apple site helped immensely.
Now the problem. My web browsers kept crashing after opening up more than 4 windows or tabs. I tried all the disk repair and permissions etc, but to no available. I suspected what the problem was , the Ram , and replaced the 1gb with the original 256mb and now it is much more stable except with the pageouts and beachballs. (512mb total) I left it running for about 12 hours to be sure (downloads-burns etc).
Now the interesting part. I had originally re-installed Panther in my hopes of finding out why the machine was crashing. Upon restarting with Panther I discovered the dreaded trackpad not working issue. Searching on these boards I found out the Apple page with the weak solution of putting my palm over it - didn't work for me. I did fix it though the update for 10.3.9- and a restart. So for anyone that is still having a problem, that may do it for you.
Right now I am trying to find out another brand of RAM (1gb) that will work for this machine. the Newegg Kingmax is definitely out - doesn't do it for me. it won't hold up to the rigors I put this machine through. (I routinely run 7-10 browsers/tabs, Word and usually top as well (which surprisingly takes up about 10-12 % alone ) Thanks.
     
finboy
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Garden of Paradise Motel, Suite 3D
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 20, 2005, 02:05 PM
 
Too bad that she ended up with a Dell, b/c the folks at JMU (in the bkstore) really know their Apple stuff. They know Dell too, but there's not much to know.

She'll be better off with a Dell, b/c JMU isn't really an Apple-friendly campus outside of the guys at the bookstore.
     
junebug630  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 20, 2005, 02:38 PM
 
Thanks for the info finboy. By the way do you know of any JMU forums that she can subscribe to before she gets up there? To kind of get the "in the know" type of info ? I havne't been able to find any on their direct website and wondered if they were behind any kind of student firewalls.
Thanks.
     
typerlover
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 20, 2005, 02:46 PM
 
junebug are you on studentdoctornetwork too?
     
jhogarty
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 20, 2005, 02:47 PM
 
Take a look at the Crucial memory. They have a tool on their website that will pick the best ram for your device. And they have a heck of a warranty/support policy.

I got Corsair from newegg for my Dual G5. So far so good.

J....
Converted 4/29/05
G5 20" iMac 2.0Ghz, 1 Gig Ram
G5 Dual 2.5Ghz Power Mac, X800 XT, 2.5 Gig Ram, 23" ACD
G4 Mac Mini 1.5GHz, 512MB Ram, 64MB VRam, Int. Modem
MacBook Pro 2.00GHz, X1600-256MB, 2.0 Gig Ram, 100GB 7200RPM HD, USB Modem
     
Pennstate
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2005, 09:47 PM
 
I have the newegg ram and it works fine. Could it be your Hard drive that is going bad? The hard drive on my refurb started making weird noises within 2 weeks. It had to be replaced. I really don't think it's the RAM that is causing all the crashes.




Originally Posted by junebug630
Well an update of sorts. I installed the Ram and bumped my machine up to 1.25 ghz. It didn't really seem any faster, just didn't page out as often. I upgraded to Tiger (clean ) and admit that I liked the widgets that I initially thought were a gimmick. Having all those available at the Apple site helped immensely.
Now the problem. My web browsers kept crashing after opening up more than 4 windows or tabs. I tried all the disk repair and permissions etc, but to no available. I suspected what the problem was , the Ram , and replaced the 1gb with the original 256mb and now it is much more stable except with the pageouts and beachballs. (512mb total) I left it running for about 12 hours to be sure (downloads-burns etc).
Now the interesting part. I had originally re-installed Panther in my hopes of finding out why the machine was crashing. Upon restarting with Panther I discovered the dreaded trackpad not working issue. Searching on these boards I found out the Apple page with the weak solution of putting my palm over it - didn't work for me. I did fix it though the update for 10.3.9- and a restart. So for anyone that is still having a problem, that may do it for you.
Right now I am trying to find out another brand of RAM (1gb) that will work for this machine. the Newegg Kingmax is definitely out - doesn't do it for me. it won't hold up to the rigors I put this machine through. (I routinely run 7-10 browsers/tabs, Word and usually top as well (which surprisingly takes up about 10-12 % alone ) Thanks.
     
JoshuaZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yamanashi, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2005, 01:12 AM
 
Lucky devil!
     
junebug630  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2005, 02:41 AM
 
I don't think it is the hard drive as the machine has been running great ever since I re-installed the original ram. I will give the Kingmax another try as when I first re-installed the ram that came with the Mac, it didn't register at all and i had to re-open the machine to discover that I hadn't pushed the ram in far enough to register/connect with the machine. I may have done that with the 1GB stick. It is certainly worth a try to see if that is what happened.
I am not on student doctor network (although I have seen my nick on more websites/forums than I thought was possible) I thought I was picking the most outrageous name possible. Oh well it turns out that it is more popular than I thought.
I do have one really dumb question. I cannot find out this answer even in Pogue's The Missing Manual. How does one open a folder inside another folder in the finder. Everytime I try it, by highlighting the folder I want to put the child folder in , the new folder always goes in on the same level as the parent folder and I have to drag and drop it into the parent folder to get it where I want it. thanks for all your help.
     
echosphere
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boring Boston
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2005, 11:30 PM
 
Originally Posted by TheIceMan
junebug630: First, congrats on your "new" Powerbook. I just got back from watching the Fantastic Four and so my brain is still in movie mode. But, I'll try to answer some of your questions.

1)...should I do an upgrade or full install?
Full Install. Nothing like installing things fresh.

2) I have tried to un (zip) sit some files I have with Stuffit on the Mac...but the Stuffit program keeps hanging and crashing on me.
Make sure you have the lastest version of StuffIt Expander.

Good luck and welcome.
BTW

The Tiger version he got was the "Drop in Tiger DVD". Which requires Panther to be prev installed in order to upgrade to Tiger. Comes w/ full iLife '5 Install CD/DVD's though.

All "new" refurbs come with them now I believe. (until natively installed Tiger machines hit the Clearance rack)
I'm from the government and I'm here to help
     
anim8ing
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2005, 04:15 PM
 
Wow, lucky him on the 400.00 savings. I just got a refurb 12" myself, and instead of a 40gb drive is has an 80gb one. I didn't check sys profiler for the RPMs though. To be honest, I didn't know it was even listed there? Bah, I just found out mine is 4200 RPM. Bum deal!
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2005, 08:35 PM
 
"Luuckyyy." - Napoleon Dynamite
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
cSurfr
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 1, 2005, 12:57 AM
 
I got a question for ya. My refurb came with an 80gb drive instead of a 40. Now the HDD is dying. It's constantly making crazy noises like it's seeking all the time (which it isn't)...Spotlight isn't indexing, and if I turn the computer off and then back on, the noise goes away for a little while, but then comes back. When it's doing so, the computer is noticably slower... Now all of that said, If I send it in for repair, what size drive will it come back with, a 40gb that the paperwork says, or an 80gb that it actually has? Any thoughts??
-How pumped would you be driving home from work, knowing someplace in your house there's a monkey you're gonna battle?
     
southtdi
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: waiting for another hurricane
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 1, 2005, 10:16 AM
 
You get the drive that the serial number of your machine defines. If your machine was shipped to you with an 80gb drive from Apple whether a CTO or not you will get a replacement 80gb drive. The repair channel has no way of knowing what you bought verses what you recieved. All they do is input the serial number and install the correct part.
- TiBook 867mhz
- Rev. A Dual 2.0ghz PowerMac G5, 3 Gigs Ram, Dual Dell 24" displays.
- Imac G4 20" with 1 Gig of ram
     
amazing
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 3, 2005, 11:28 AM
 
When you send a laptop that's under applecare in for a warranty repair, and when the HD is the original HD that it shipped with, then the original equipment HD is replaced with the same size HD.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,