Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Creative Suite

Creative Suite
Thread Tools
BlueJungle
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 21, 2007, 07:22 PM
 
Hi,
I just purchased a Mac Pro and wanted to know that if I get my hands on (a free) CS package, would it be able to run on the operating system of the Mac Pro? And then can I upgrade it to CS3?
Thanks.
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 21, 2007, 07:38 PM
 
Yes, you can run CS through Rosetta emulation on the Mac Pro.

Yes, you can upgrade legal copies of CS to CS3.
     
BlueJungle  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2007, 07:31 AM
 
I'm a newbie at this. What's Rosetta emulation? How can I achieve this?
Thanks for all of the help!
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2007, 08:32 AM
 
Many in-depth explanations of Rosetta have been made in this forum. Use the Search function.

In a nutshell, it's the layer within OS X that allows Intel-based Macs to seamlessly run software written for PowerPC-based Macs. Sort of a real-time translator for program code.

You never see it happening. Stuff just runs.

CS is PowerPC-native and runs fine through the Rosetta layer. CS3 is the first version that is Universal Binary, i.e. both Intel-native and PowerPC-native.
     
mac128k-1984
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2007, 08:39 AM
 
Originally Posted by BlueJungle View Post
I'm a newbie at this. What's Rosetta emulation? How can I achieve this?
Thanks for all of the help!
Rosetta is an emulation layer allowing intel macs to run applications/programs that were compiled for PowerPC Macintoshs. Because the compiled code is different between the powerpc (G3,G4,G5) and the intel Mac, Apple needed something in place to allow intel macs to run non Universal Binary (compiled for both PPC and intel) Programs.

Being an emulation, speed and memory requirements are effected, while surprisingly fast, you do incur a speed penalty and the memory overhead likewise increases the need for a given app.

CS3 - a Universal Binary application runs faster with less memory. I've been running CS on my macpro and the speed was fine, but now CS3 is remarkably quick
Michael
     
BlueJungle  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2007, 11:44 AM
 
So if I get the CS and upgrade to CS3, the upgrade would rectify any speed problems? That's great. That's what I was hoping for.
     
peeb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2007, 02:04 PM
 
Yes.
     
workerbee
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 23, 2007, 04:55 PM
 
Yup. CS3 on Intel is quite nice, actually, even though Illustrator still takes unreasonably long to start.
MBP 15" 2.33GHz C2D 3GB 2*23" ACD
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,