Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Sims 2 Performance on iMac G5

Sims 2 Performance on iMac G5
Thread Tools
Spaceman Spiff
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2006, 08:55 PM
 
Hi, I have an iMac G5 (17" 1.9 GHz iSight model) and I am wondering how the Sims 2 would run on my computer. My friends have the game for their PCs and it runs really sloooooow, at about 10 fps, which I consider way to slow. Would it run Great? Good? Acceptable? Bad? Horrible? Would I have to turn off a lot of the advanced features? Thanks.
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2006, 12:53 AM
 
Anyone else wanna help this gentleman out?
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
SShoot3r
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2006, 02:25 AM
 
I think it should be fine.
     
jamil5454
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Downtown Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2006, 08:44 AM
 
http://www.aspyr.com/games.php/mac/10880/

If you look here, you can see that the iMac G5 easily meets the minimum requirements. The only way to know for sure how it will run is to buy the game and run it. However, I'm fairly confident it'll run pretty well given the X600 in the current iMac.
     
ryan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2006, 02:11 PM
 
I have the same iMac model and with everything set to the max The Sims 2 only lags when vehicles stop by the house. Other than that it's perfect, much better than on my Windows laptop.
     
Spaceman Spiff  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2006, 10:02 PM
 
Originally Posted by ryan
I have the same iMac model and with everything set to the max The Sims 2 only lags when vehicles stop by the house. Other than that it's perfect, much better than on my Windows laptop.
Thanks man this is exactly what I needed to know.
     
Spaceman Spiff  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 25, 2006, 07:04 PM
 
Originally Posted by ryan
I have the same iMac model and with everything set to the max The Sims 2 only lags when vehicles stop by the house. Other than that it's perfect, much better than on my Windows laptop.

Oh, at what resolution were you running the game?
     
turambar
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2006, 01:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spaceman Spiff
Oh, at what resolution were you running the game?
Does resolution affect the function of the game? My copy of the Sims 2 keeps crashing, and I'm trying to find a way of figuring out how to stop it.
I, too, have a iMac G5 iSight model (1.9 GHz, 17 inch).
I also downloaded the patch and installed it.

Is there anything else I can do to stop it from crashing?
     
Wickedkitten
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2006, 04:02 PM
 
Originally Posted by turambar
Does resolution affect the function of the game? My copy of the Sims 2 keeps crashing, and I'm trying to find a way of figuring out how to stop it.
I, too, have a iMac G5 iSight model (1.9 GHz, 17 inch).
I also downloaded the patch and installed it.

Is there anything else I can do to stop it from crashing?
The only time mine crashes is because of dodgy objects, have you downloaded any lately?
     
turambar
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2006, 05:24 PM
 
Originally Posted by Wickedkitten
The only time mine crashes is because of dodgy objects, have you downloaded any lately?
I got it on Monday and just started playing with it.
The only thing I downloaded was the patch in an attempt to quell the crashing.

It seemed to only start crashing when my Sims had their child (both home made Sims) and that child grew up into a child. I have been able to get through two days (of the child being a child) while saving every 10 minuites, and reopening it when it crashed. There doesn't seem to be one particular moment when it crashes. I don't think it's linked to a particular thing. The last time it crashed was right after I was helping my child with her homework. Before that it crashed when my child grew up into a child, but the second time it crashed much later, when she came home from school. (I got around the first crash by saving.)

I since has tried to lower the quality of the graphics and such, and try the resolution, but it always ends up crashing.
     
Aiglos
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2006, 10:12 AM
 
Originally Posted by Spaceman Spiff
Hi, I have an iMac G5 (17" 1.9 GHz iSight model) and I am wondering how the Sims 2 would run on my computer. My friends have the game for their PCs and it runs really sloooooow, at about 10 fps, which I consider way to slow. Would it run Great? Good? Acceptable? Bad? Horrible? Would I have to turn off a lot of the advanced features? Thanks.
Your setup should definitely handle it easily. On my 128 VRAM powerbook (1.6 G4) it runs fine. However I have the University expansion pack at it can really take a framerate hit in the dorm rooms as the living quarters get busy. I just usually hit pause and start queing a bunch of actions.

Definitely, your G5 is more than capable.
     
MacFairy
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2006, 06:07 PM
 
Sorry to change thread, but quick question if anyone can help. Will the sims 2 play on the macbook pro? As the requirements say powerpc...
Macbook Pro: 1.83Ghz, 120GB HD, 1GB ram
iPod: 30GB
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 21, 2006, 06:11 AM
 
Originally Posted by MacFairy
Sorry to change thread, but quick question if anyone can help. Will the sims 2 play on the macbook pro? As the requirements say powerpc...
You will need to wait for an update to make the performance acceptable, then it will fly along.

Whether it will launch I do not know.
     
MacFairy
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 22, 2006, 10:44 AM
 
Does mean I have to wait for an update to come out? I have just bought the Sims2 so I should return it and wait?
Macbook Pro: 1.83Ghz, 120GB HD, 1GB ram
iPod: 30GB
     
mikemako
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hollywood, Ca
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 23, 2006, 02:29 AM
 
Originally Posted by MacFairy
Does mean I have to wait for an update to come out? I have just bought the Sims2 so I should return it and wait?
Yes it does mean we have to wait, but it wouldn't make much sense to return The Sims 2, only to re-buy it in a couple (weeks?) once the update is out.

The Sims 2 will run under Rosetta, but not very well, so just hang on for a little while. Aspyr has already said that The Sims 2 will be updated soon to Universal. Once they release the update, it will probably just be a download like the Doom 3 Universal update.
My Computer: MacBook Pro 2GHz, Mac OS X 10.4.5
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,