Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Video / upload experts... can uploading cause such a glitch? Police Dash Cam

Video / upload experts... can uploading cause such a glitch? Police Dash Cam
Thread Tools
design219
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2015, 02:31 PM
 
I'm not seeing any experts weigh in on the weird "glitches" in the police dash cam video of the Sandra Bland arrest.

Have any of you seen such glitches happen when a video is uploaded? It sure looks like an edit, but stuff happens.
__________________________________________________

My stupid iPhone game: Nesen Probe, it's rather old, annoying and pointless, but it's free.
Was free. Now it's gone. Never to be seen again.
Off to join its brother and sister apps that could not
keep up with the ever updating iOS. RIP Nesen Probe.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2015, 02:34 PM
 
The edit lacks any subtlety and repeats stupidly, which makes me think it's accidental. The audio is supposedly uncut as well, which seems counterintuitive if you're trying to hide something.
     
design219  (op)
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2015, 02:37 PM
 
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
The edit lacks any subtlety and repeats stupidly, which makes me think it's accidental.
Exactly my thought. But I've never seen it happen. Then again, I haven't done much with video.
__________________________________________________

My stupid iPhone game: Nesen Probe, it's rather old, annoying and pointless, but it's free.
Was free. Now it's gone. Never to be seen again.
Off to join its brother and sister apps that could not
keep up with the ever updating iOS. RIP Nesen Probe.
     
BadKosh
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Just west of DC.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2015, 02:55 PM
 
A frame count would tell you if its been tampered with. Each frame if its a digital, not analog will have the time the frame was captured. A jump of a few frames may not prove anything but several hundred might.
     
design219  (op)
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2015, 03:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by BadKosh View Post
A frame count would tell you if its been tampered with. Each frame if its a digital, not analog will have the time the frame was captured. A jump of a few frames may not prove anything but several hundred might.
So does an edit (that is re-exported) keep the original footage frame numbers as well as the new frames from the export of the edit?
( Last edited by design219; Jul 22, 2015 at 03:23 PM. Reason: clarify)
__________________________________________________

My stupid iPhone game: Nesen Probe, it's rather old, annoying and pointless, but it's free.
Was free. Now it's gone. Never to be seen again.
Off to join its brother and sister apps that could not
keep up with the ever updating iOS. RIP Nesen Probe.
     
BadKosh
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Just west of DC.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2015, 07:37 AM
 
Sometimes the import might drop frames, one here one there but not usually a whole bunch in a row unless its coming off tape or going through an A to D converter. In fact Final cut Pro has a feature to alert you of dropped frames.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2015, 01:54 PM
 
Every instinct is telling me this isn't possible as a "glitch".

Compressed video doesn't glitch coherently. It just doesn't.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2015, 01:57 PM
 
It's an inspired impression of computer randomness if not.
     
BadKosh
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Just west of DC.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2015, 02:44 PM
 
I'd say they tampered. What DO they use as police body cams or dash cams? Does it get dumped to a DVD or to flash memory or what?
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2015, 03:20 PM
 
I expect they all use flash storage today. A vehicle has too much vibration for an optical recorder, or even a micro HD.

I haven't thought of a plausible way to glitch the video up by accident ... but the audio being intact argues against edits. The loops don't appear on anything interesting, and they're obvious. It feels like an accident this time, but I still can't think how it could happen.
     
BadKosh
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Just west of DC.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2015, 07:30 AM
 
Flash memory gets old and slower. Perhaps the very cheapest body cams?
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2015, 07:42 AM
 
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
It's an inspired impression of computer randomness if not.
But it's in a form coherent and comprehensible to humans: repetition of a sequence.

This is how digital video glitches. Spoilered because it's creepy.

 
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,