Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > iMac Core Duo Ram Question

iMac Core Duo Ram Question
Thread Tools
breakbeat46
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2006, 11:43 PM
 
So i've read some posts saying that the current intel iMac's can use 2gb sticks so you could get a total of 4gb of ram. has anyone tried this yet? If so, does the computer recognize the 2gb stick?

thanks in advance
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2006, 01:11 AM
 
/me wants to know also. Intel's chipset docs says 4GB is supported.
     
CanadaRAM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2006, 02:14 AM
 
No non-ECC, non-Registered, non-Stacked 2 Gb 667 MHz SODIMM modules have shipped yet, AFAIK
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2006, 03:21 AM
 
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
No non-ECC, non-Registered, non-Stacked 2 Gb 667 MHz SODIMM modules have shipped yet, AFAIK
Is this stacked?

Module Details:

* Part Number: CT25664AC667
* Module Size: 2GB
* Package: 200-pin SODIMM
* Feature: DDR2 PC2-5300
* Configuration: 256Meg x 64
* DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
* Error Checking: NON-ECC
* Speed: DDR2-667
* Voltage: 1.8V
* Memory Timings: CL=5
* Specs: DDR2 PC2-5300 • CL=5 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR2-667 • 1.8V • 256Meg x 64

US $1874.99
     
stefanicotine
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2006, 07:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by mduell
Is this stacked?

Module Details:

* Part Number: CT25664AC667
* Module Size: 2GB
* Package: 200-pin SODIMM
* Feature: DDR2 PC2-5300
* Configuration: 256Meg x 64
* DIMM Type: UNBUFFERED
* Error Checking: NON-ECC
* Speed: DDR2-667
* Voltage: 1.8V
* Memory Timings: CL=5
* Specs: DDR2 PC2-5300 • CL=5 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR2-667 • 1.8V • 256Meg x 64

US $1874.99
So, you're telling me that you're willing to pay as much for a small upgrade as you would for a new iMac? Doesn't make much sense to me. Cost of getting two of those modules would pay for a Powermac, sell your iMac and you could have two 20" ACD's

Just doesn't seem logical, imo.
 Certified AppleCare Technician
     
breakbeat46  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2006, 09:29 PM
 
Yeah at that price it is. So I guess the answer to my question is No.
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 11, 2006, 09:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by stefanicotine
So, you're telling me that you're willing to pay as much for a small upgrade as you would for a new iMac? Doesn't make much sense to me. Cost of getting two of those modules would pay for a Powermac, sell your iMac and you could have two 20" ACD's

Just doesn't seem logical, imo.
Practicality and logicality have nothing to do with the post I was replying to.
     
stefanicotine
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 12, 2006, 02:30 AM
 
lol I know. I'm just saying, it doesn't seem like your making any gains if upgrading to 4 gigs of ram is going to cost more then the iMac itself. Merely stating the obvious
 Certified AppleCare Technician
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 4, 2006, 07:14 AM
 
I am looking for single 2 GB RAM modules (*) aiemd for a friend's iMac intel core duo, aren't they available or it is just an insane cost option ?

(*) Main reason he could in the future max-up the RAM to 4 GB once the RAM price becomes 'affordable'.
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 4, 2006, 07:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by angelmb
I am looking for single 2 GB RAM modules (*) aiemd for a friend's iMac intel core duo, aren't they available or it is just an insane cost option ?

(*) Main reason he could in the future max-up the RAM to 4 GB once the RAM price becomes 'affordable'.
It's just a cost thing. The higher density chips have fewer manufacturers and poorer yields.

FYI the iMacs only support 2 or 3GB RAM... Apple may be able to up it to 4GB with a firmware update, but maybe not.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 4, 2006, 09:01 AM
 
Thanks Mark.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,