Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > "could not open display" in X11

"could not open display" in X11
Thread Tools
neilxu
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2005, 04:48 PM
 
On my OS X, I ssh to a Linux machine and try to run a GUI program. But after I type the command, it shows "could not open display". What can I do?

I get the same error info on terminal or X11, even iTerm. If I use yellowdog linux, everything is fine. However, I really do not want to restart my PB.
     
Angus_D
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2005, 04:59 PM
 
Either use Xterm (or some other terminal running under X) or set your DISPLAY environment variable.
     
Paul McCann
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 20, 2005, 12:04 AM
 
It's worth trying the following: set your own display to be something like ":0.0". If you're using tcsh then
Code:
setenv DISPLAY :0.0
will work, while
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0.0
will work for bash or zsh. Then log in to the remote machine using
Code:
ssh -X [email protected]
and all should be well. ie, just crank up a few X11 applications. Your DISPLAY in the remote shell should be something like

localhost:18

(it's a proxy X-server). If this does work then throw the display command into your startup file (.login for tcsh, .zlogin for zsh, etc etc). If it doesn't work, too bad! Could be that X11 forwarding isn't allowed in the sshd_config file.

Best of luck,
Paul
( Last edited by Paul McCann; Apr 20, 2005 at 12:06 AM. Reason: typos)
     
neilxu  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 20, 2005, 12:45 AM
 
thanks paul! it rocks! I am considering deleting linux once I install tiger on my PB
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,