Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Warcraft 3 on powerbook? widescreen?

Warcraft 3 on powerbook? widescreen?
Thread Tools
kelesh
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: boston, ma
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 03:55 AM
 
How does it work with the widescreen resolution? in a screenshot i saw, it looked stretched. Is more of the land visible or is everything stretched? Stretching everything, like the polygonal models and all, seems like a bad choice since it would look funny. Blizzard should let it be truly widescreen if possible. Can anybody shed some light on this.

Do any games support true widescreen action? Are games usually stretched or do they have black bars?
     
nsxpower
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 07:08 AM
 
I am playing WC3 on a PB 15" 1Ghz (details in the sig).

- Nothing is stretched, I guess you do get a little more real estate, but I would not say its very noticeble. On the other hand, I have not played WC3 on any tother machine to be able to compare.

- The game runs good at Max everything ... even when a huge battle is happening ('huge' being highly relative for anyone who has played 'Total War' and the sequels to it).

So far I've beaten the Prologue, The Human missions and The Undead missions ... going to start playing Orcs today or whenever I actually have the time.
My Blog & Photos
PowerBook (Ti) 1Ghz 1Gb 60Gb SD
     
kelesh  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: boston, ma
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 04:21 PM
 
so you get to see more of the battlefield? this seems like an unfair advantage if you were playing online. are you sure that it is not horizontally stretched?
     
ksuther
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 04:37 PM
 
Warcraft 3 does support all the native resolutions on widescreen monitors. My TiBook lets me play in 1152x768 and all the similar resolutions.

Higher resolution does let you see a bit more of the battlefield, but not much, it mostly just makes it look prettier.
     
Vash
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 07:33 PM
 
Yes Warcraft 3 will do whatever resolutions your computer can do. But it does stretch the image. Almost all Quake 3 engine based games can truly do un stretched widescreen resolutions. Such as Quake 3, MOH:AA, RtCW, SOF2, and Jedi Knight 2.
Revenge is a meal best served cold.
     
nobitacu
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 3, 2003, 05:58 AM
 
Good, I was hoping it has wide screen support.

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,