Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > dual link 128 mb vram for 15 inch PB ?

dual link 128 mb vram for 15 inch PB ?
trip
Forum Regular
Mar 16, 2005, 10:43 PM

I am trying to determine if it's worth having the 128 vram on the 15 inch powerbook. It's optional. Does the full 128 get used all the time or is 64 dedicated to one monitor only ? I am not a techie so if anyone knows please do tell. I get the impression the 128 is intended for people to enable dual monitors, but I'd like to know if it will help video game peformance without dual...

Thanks in advance... ?
"The direct use of force is such a poor solution to any problem, it is generally employed only by small children and large nations". --David Friedman

anamexis
Dedicated MacNNer
Mar 16, 2005, 11:41 PM

trip, all 128MB will be dedicated to the screen if there is only one screen plugged in, and will be split between two if you plug another in.

As for buying it, its a matter of preference. Search the forum and you will see other similar threads. Increasing the VRAM will give your PowerBook longer life (that is, it won't become obsolete as fast). It is important to remember that you cannot upgrade the VRAM. However, unless you are doing pretty video-intensive stuff, the extra VRAM may very well not be worth it. Take a look at what other people are saying and then decide for yourself.

iREZ
Professional Poster
Mar 17, 2005, 12:14 AM

it's better if you tell us what you plan on doing with your Powerbook. That way we could tell you if it's worth it or not.
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)

trip  (op)
Forum Regular
Mar 17, 2005, 01:15 AM