Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > --Help putting a Mac mini in my car dashboard!

--Help putting a Mac mini in my car dashboard!
RandyJS
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Jan 18, 2005, 10:28 PM

Hello everyone!!

I have recently switched to a Mac a little more than a year ago, and since then I have been fascinated with Mac products. So far I own and iMac G4, Powerbook G4, iPod Photo 40 gig, iPod 20gig, an Airport Express, and now I am getting a mini to install in my car!

I however, am running into a few problems, as I am no expert yet!

Here are some of the functions that I want to include in the car.

- Navigation System (complete w/voice control)
Does anyone know of a good Mac GPS receiver and navigation software to go along with it? I would prefer a USB GPS receiver, as it will be the most easy to install on the mini! I am having a hard time finding Mac compatable receivers....

- Music/MP3 Player with visualizations (iTunes) - Complete with voice controls - Will Mac OSX's voice software work for what I want the system to do with voice controls?

- DVD Player via Apple's DVD player in OSX

- Touch Screen LCD and a customizable user interface. I was thinking that using some kind of widget program would work best for creating the interface, as the dock would be kind of hard to work with on a touchscreen LCD! Also, I want programs to be launched by voice control and voice commands also. --- anyone know of a good widescreen LCD 8" touchscreen with drivers for Mac OSX?

- Slideshows (iPhoto)