Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > how to run .dmg files + other ques

how to run .dmg files + other ques
Thread Tools
maxzsim
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2006, 08:30 PM
 
Hi all ,

I am just using iMac and there's lots of things that i am unsure of

I am using Mac OS X (from the startup i can see but i am not exactly sure of the exact version)

Ques :

1. How can i see the exact version of my Mac OS X ?

2a. it's using I.E 4.5 and i want to upgrade it . it seems that now i shld be using Safari ?

2b. I have donwloaded Safari ver 1.2 but i simply cannot execute the file (i.e when i dbl click it said something abt the system not have the program that create the .dmg files)

3. I do not have Mac Office. But let's say if i purchase it and i save my work can it actually be used on a Windows PC's Office and vice versa ?

4. Is there other free office-like tools for me to download and it can inter-operate with MS Office ?


appreciate ur advise

tks & rdgs
maxzsim
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2006, 08:52 PM
 
1: Click on the Apple in the menu bar ( the thing at the top of your screen) and select "About this Mac." There you will see info about your iMac, including the version of Mac OS X.
2a: Yes you should use Safari, or another browser like FireFox ( www.getfirefox.com)
3: Yes it can be used on a Windows PC or vice versa.
4: Yes, it is called NeoOffice, but I don't think it can be used with PCs

Welcome to MacNN!
     
maxzsim  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2006, 10:36 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5
1: Click on the Apple in the menu bar ( the thing at the top of your screen) and select "About this Mac." There you will see info about your iMac, including the version of Mac OS X.
2a: Yes you should use Safari, or another browser like FireFox ( www.getfirefox.com)
3: Yes it can be used on a Windows PC or vice versa.
4: Yes, it is called NeoOffice, but I don't think it can be used with PCs

Welcome to MacNN!
Hi ,

tk you for the advice but i can i resolve problem 2b ? what are the s/ws that i need to install or check ?

tks & rdgs
maxzsim
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2006, 10:39 PM
 
Originally Posted by maxzsim
Hi ,

tk you for the advice but i can i resolve problem 2b ? what are the s/ws that i need to install or check ?

tks & rdgs
maxzsim
What version of the OS are you running?
     
maxzsim  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 12:44 AM
 
Originally Posted by moonmonkey
What version of the OS are you running?

Hi ,

I am using Mac OS X but the exact version i need to find out when i am home first.

Do you need the exact version ?

tks & rdgs
maxzsim
     
maxzsim  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 07:17 AM
 
Hi ,

i have just checked my MAC OS is actually : Mac OS Z1-9.0

and is there any version of safari that i can used and also how can i dbl-clicked on the .dmg file that i downloaded as it complained of "could not find the application program that created the document named "Safari_1.2.dmg"

pls advise

tks & rdgs
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 08:18 AM
 
Thats Mac OS 9 which came out ages before OS X. You can't run Safari on that, you'll have to get OS X first.

What type of iMac do you have? Is it a big old CRT screen type or the flatscreen lamp type?
     
Dillon-K
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 08:24 AM
 
lol how do people find this forum if they can't tell if they're running classic or OS X?
Black MacBook 2.0GHz Core Duo, 1GB RAM.
Logitech V270 Bluetooth mouse, Brenthaven Metro (black).
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 08:53 AM
 
Well Apple helpfully puts a name on the front of all of their computers.
     
badnewsblair
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Richmond! VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 10:30 AM
 
I would just like to advise some people on this forum that we are here to help. Not insult or make anyone feel uncomfortable about how much they do or do not know about their machines. I came here several years ago looking for help and found the friendliest, most knowledgeable and willing to help Mac users on the web. Can we please keep to this philosophy? I've noticed a lot more "smart" remarks to people's questions on this forum. Let's not uphold the typical Mac Elitist stereotype. Thanks everyone.
[ 15 inch Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Core 2 Duo ][ 20 inch Intel iMac 2 GB RAM / 256 MB ATI XT 1600 ][ iPhone OG (3GS on Reservation)][ White iPod 5th Gen. 60GB ]
     
maxzsim  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 10:49 AM
 
Originally Posted by seanc
Thats Mac OS 9 which came out ages before OS X. You can't run Safari on that, you'll have to get OS X first.

What type of iMac do you have? Is it a big old CRT screen type or the flatscreen lamp type?
Hi,

Is OS X that's something downloadable free ?

My iMac is the single monitor CRT type.

actually what s/w is required for me to dbl-click and execute the .dmg files that i have downloaded ? or the fact that i cannot execute the .dmg files is because my OS is too old ??

tks & rdgs
maxzsim
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 11:23 AM
 
Your OS is too old.

OS X is the current generation of the Mac OS operating system (System 10) and would have to be purchased from a shop.

Since you have quite an old computer, you'd probably be better off buying a newer Mac like a Mini as OS X on your computer would be very slow.
     
maxzsim  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 12:18 PM
 
i c tks for ur reply

rdgs,
maxzsim
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 01:15 PM
 
What Processor speed does About this Mac show, and how much RAM does it show?
     
Lateralus
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 02:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5
What Processor speed does About this Mac show, and how much RAM does it show?
I think it's been pretty well established that maxzsim is running Mac OS 9, so how is he/she supposed to check About This Mac when it's only a feature of OS X?

To check your processor speed; Apple Menu > Apple System Profiler
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 02:14 PM
 
My PowerBook says about this macintosh.
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 02:16 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5
My PowerBook says about this macintosh.
Yes, but there's no processor speed in there.
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 03:24 PM
 
Oh you're right. Oops
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 14, 2006, 04:32 PM
 
Originally Posted by seanc
Your OS is too old.

OS X is the current generation of the Mac OS operating system (System 10) and would have to be purchased from a shop.

Since you have quite an old computer, you'd probably be better off buying a newer Mac like a Mini as OS X on your computer would be very slow.
If you can't afford 10.4, you can get 10.3 very cheaply secondhand and it will run fast enough on any iMac so long as you have enough RAM installed (512MB would be adequate).
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,