Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Closed option using 2nd display help.

Closed option using 2nd display help.
Thread Tools
Golden Halo
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 12, 2007, 09:48 PM
 
I have been hooking up my HD tv to my MBP and it has mirror or extended options only, atleast to my recognition. I size down the resolution on my MBP display to divote more of my VRAM to my 32" 720p display and it looks pretty good. I would really like to divote all of it to the external display . Thanks in advance!

-Rob
15.4" Macbook Pro 2.2 Core 2 Duo, 4GB Ram, 500GB HD @ 7,200rpm. 20" iMac Intel Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 256 VRAM, 250 GB HD. Pro apps: Final Cut Studio, and Logic Pro 8.
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 12, 2007, 11:06 PM
 
Close the lid of your MBP.
     
Golden Halo  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2007, 12:00 AM
 
It goes to sleep, maybe i should try turning that off.
15.4" Macbook Pro 2.2 Core 2 Duo, 4GB Ram, 500GB HD @ 7,200rpm. 20" iMac Intel Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 256 VRAM, 250 GB HD. Pro apps: Final Cut Studio, and Logic Pro 8.
     
SVass
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington state
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2007, 11:01 AM
 
Let it go to sleep, close the display lid, and then move the mouse or strike a key. When it wakes with a closed lid, the external display will work and the internal one will remain off. sam
     
badnewsblair
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Richmond! VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2007, 11:15 AM
 
Not to be all "thread police" here, but hasn't this been discussed here several times? And recently.

Anyway, close the lid and tap a key. If an external display is detected it will go into closed mode. I have found that sometimes it will not jog the computer into activity. The most reliable way of doing this (I've found) is if you are using a UB keyboard, is to unplug the keyboard (or mouse) and plug it back in.
[ 15 inch Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Core 2 Duo ][ 20 inch Intel iMac 2 GB RAM / 256 MB ATI XT 1600 ][ iPhone OG (3GS on Reservation)][ White iPod 5th Gen. 60GB ]
     
JonoMarshall
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2007, 11:43 AM
 
Also the MB/MBP must be plugged into the power supply, no?
     
mfbernstein
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2007, 06:00 PM
 
Originally Posted by JonoMarshall View Post
Also the MB/MBP must be plugged into the power supply, no?
Yes. Discovered this the hard way. Good discussion of that here.

To the original poster though, I really wouldn't worry about video RAM. The MBP more than enough for general uses, and the basic 2D functionality of the built-in screen takes only a minimal amount.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,