Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > 20" imac have enough gaming power for WoW?

20" imac have enough gaming power for WoW?
Thread Tools
archer75
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 01:37 AM
 
With the 128mb version of the x1600? Along with all graphical bells and whistles turned on? The reason I ask is that I can get a 20" imac for pretty cheap. And i'll upgrade it to 2gb of ram right of the bat. Only drawback I can see is the 128mb on the video card instead of 256mb.

And yes, i've done a search. I haven't seen another question like mine.
( Last edited by archer75; Aug 18, 2006 at 01:51 AM. )
     
BikerJonTN
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 02:17 AM
 
I play WoW on my 20" iMac with the Radeon x1600 128MB. It runs fine, and I have every effect set to its maximum value. I do have 2GB of RAM, and never played WoW on only 512MB of RAM.
PowerBook G4 17-inch 1GHz (March 2003)
iBook G4 12-inch 1.33GHz (July 2005)
iMac 20-inch 2.0GHz Intel Core Duo (January 2006)
     
Chinasaur
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Out West Somewhere....
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 08:49 AM
 
Check the Games forum. There are discussions like this all the time concerning platforms for WoW. And you'll be talking to people who already own 2.0ghz Intel iMacs'.
iMac - Late 2015 iMac, 32GB RAM
MacBook - 2010 MacBook, 1TB SSD, 16GB RAM
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 01:00 PM
 
The extra VRAM shouldn't have much impact on WoW.
     
jamil5454
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Downtown Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 01:18 PM
 
Seconded... especially at 1680x1050 with no Anti Aliasing and relatively low-res textures.
     
archer75  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2006, 02:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by jamil5454
Seconded... especially at 1680x1050 with no Anti Aliasing and relatively low-res textures.

But I would turn on full AA. Or can you not do that on a Mac?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,