Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > GUI Customization > Changing the look of Stacks

Changing the look of Stacks
Thread Tools
@pplejaxkz
Senior User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 10, 2007, 07:01 PM
 
Now I have read a lot of complaints on stacks and such. I myself don't really have too much of a problem . The only issue I see is that stacks show what was placed last into the folder. I would just like to see an "Applications" Folder, or "Downloads" Folder, etc.

Well if you're feeling the same way as I do, I have found a cool article. It doesn't necessarily change the way stacks show on the dock, but more or less places the whole stack in a cool bin.

Stacks Overlay

I have yet to try this, but I am going to as soon as I get time. I just wanted to share the article with you guys who are feeling the same way about stacks.
     
autumnrayne
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2007, 11:17 AM
 
brilliant. thank you.
all we were, and are we have done- just zeros and ones.
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2007, 01:12 PM
 
Thank You Sooooooooooo Much!
     
dru
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2007, 01:33 PM
 
Clever!
20" iMac C2D/2.4GHz 3GB RAM 10.6.8 (10H549)
     
Curiosity
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 03:31 AM
 
In this code for the Terminal, I get the 20200101, but what is the 0101.01? Are those hours, minutes and seconds?
touch -mt 202001010101.01
     
entrox
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 12:10 PM
 
Originally Posted by Curiosity View Post
In this code for the Terminal, I get the 20200101, but what is the 0101.01? Are those hours, minutes and seconds?
touch -mt 202001010101.01
Entering "man touch" will bring up the manual for the touch utility:

Originally Posted by touch manpage
-t The argument should be in the
form ``[[CC]YY]MMDDhhmm[.SS]'' where each pair of letters represents the following:

CC The first two digits of the year (the century).
YY The second two digits of the year. If ``YY'' is specified, but ``CC'' is not, a
value for ``YY'' between 69 and 99 results in a ``CC'' value of 19. Otherwise, a
``CC'' value of 20 is used.
MM The month of the year, from 1 to 12.
DD the day of the month, from 1 to 31.
hh The hour of the day, from 0 to 23.
mm The minute of the hour, from 0 to 59.
SS The second of the minute, from 0 to 61.
Fields in square brackets are optional and can be omitted.
     
I WAS the One
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 01:57 PM
 
step by step guide please? I'm not afraid of Terminal but I really want to know how to do this.
Enjoy My Mac Comic @ BLAST COMICS
     
@pplejaxkz  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 04:05 PM
 
Anybody successfully change their stacks yet? I have been doing homework all weekend. I'm hoping to get a chance at this Tuesday.

Originally Posted by I WAS the One View Post
step by step guide please? I'm not afraid of Terminal but I really want to know how to do this.
Even though I've used terminal quite a bit in Linux, it still makes me a little nervous putting in commands that I don't know, so I know how you feel. I have had some pretty terrible experiences lol.
     
I WAS the One
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 04:12 PM
 
but the idea looks very Apple don't you think? It's something so cool that I don't know why Apple doesn't come with it first... it's like finishing the stacks feature... I'm desperate to add this hack on my new iMac!
Enjoy My Mac Comic @ BLAST COMICS
     
phrenzy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 04:50 PM
 
Is there any way to 'touch' the files to modify the "date added" date? The whole thing that makes stacks useful for downloads (for me) is that it puts the last download at the top. Simply changing to 'date modified' doesn't always do that because different files you download have different modification dates.
     
lpkmckenna
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 07:45 PM
 
Saw this yesterday at DaringFireball. It's a clever solution.

I didn't both with the "touch" stuff. I just named them + and threw each into the relevant stack.
     
fisherKing
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: brooklyn ny
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 12, 2007, 09:05 PM
 
nice idea, overall.
i named my folders with a space, so no text.
still, adds an extra folder to each stack...

hope apple gets stacks together soon...
"At first, there was Nothing. Then Nothing inverted itself and became Something.
And that is what you all are: inverted Nothings...with potential" (Sun Ra)
     
Curiosity
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2007, 03:09 AM
 
Thanks, entrox.
That was what I thought.
     
swiz
GUI Punk
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: S.E. Mitten
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2007, 09:55 AM
 
The easiest way to implement these is to place the icon in the folder you use in your dock and rename the icon file "0.app". Thats a zero. it will always be the front of your stacks. Be sure to sort by "name".

24" AlumiMac 2.4ghz C2D, 4g Ram, 300g HD, 750g USBHD • 80g iPod • 160g ATV • iPhone 3g
     
Kevin
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2007, 10:51 AM
 
Or put a space before the name. That works better than 0 I think. The space will always come before 0.
     
I WAS the One
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 14, 2007, 10:16 PM
 
I LOVE IT!!! check it out how it looks! I wonder if someone can do a hack that the icon keeps in the dock and all of the stuff fan out!

Enjoy My Mac Comic @ BLAST COMICS
     
dggraphics
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2007, 02:50 AM
 
yo can do that just replace the stacks icon with the folder bucket icon.
     
dggraphics
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2007, 02:52 AM
 
they would all look the same, but anyhoo
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2007, 04:15 PM
 
When I get Leopard, I will do this. I'll just use the blank bins, so it will look the same.
     
loveanh
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 12:05 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
When I get Leopard, I will do this. I'll just use the blank bins, so it will look the same.

What are you waiting for?
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 04:08 PM
 
For it to arrive in the mail .
     
loveanh
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 04:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
For it to arrive in the mail .
snail mail I take it
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 07:17 PM
 
Priority. i bought it here friday. I'm a bargain hunter. I never planned to pay $129.
     
loveanh
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 08:27 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
Priority. i bought it here friday. I'm a bargain hunter. I never planned to pay $129.
Is it brand new or did someone already installed it and sold it? It's not like Apple knows if it has the OS is already installed on one machine because you don't have to register to complete the installation of the OS.
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 08:37 PM
 
Apparently brand new.
     
loveanh
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 08:46 PM
 
What's with the sig? It's misleading, you haven't installed Leopard yet.
     
0157988944
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 08:47 PM
 
It's preemptive.
     
AC Rempt
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2007, 11:47 PM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Or put a space before the name. That works better than 0 I think. The space will always come before 0.
I went with space 0 just to mega sure

And I love these icons. They actually make sense! I hope Apple steals them soon.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,